My Grandmother’s Recipes: Part 5, Soup

My grandparents’ teenage romance continues in this chapter (click for Part 1Part 2Part 3Part 4Part 6Part 7).

Part 5.jpg
Part 5 cont
Part 5 fin.jpg

*This is not an error; I included the top of the next page in order to finish a paragraph and to leave you, Beautiful People, in suspense.  The synagogue story will continue next week.

11.  Mazel Tov – Congratulations (lit. Good Luck)

12. Yizkor – prayer in commemoration of the dead, recited on the last days of the Three Festivals and on Yom Kippur, the Day of Atonement (lit. He shall remember…)

13. NEP (New Economic Policy) – a system of privatization introduced by Lenin in 1922 to help boost the fledgling soviet economy.

14. Oistrakh, David – world-famous violinist who was born in Odessa and who started out as a childhood prodigy. His name became synonymous with the notion of a “wunderkind.”

15. Nikeyveh – prostitute.

Whenever I hear this beautiful song, I can’t help but think about my grandparents who were just as much in love with each other 59 years later, as on the day of their wedding.

The next course coming to the holiday table is soup:

Enjoy!

16 Comments Add yours

  1. It’s interesting that “נְקֵבָה” means “female” in Hebrew.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I know, and in Yiddish there is a distinction between a young unmarried female (a moid), an older unmarried female (a fro), and a married female (a veib).
      Sorry – too lazy to go to a Hebrew keyboard.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Love at firs sight can work

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It does, I am convinced.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. My favorite part of the story. Such a love story should be commemorated in a famous love ballad, at least!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It has never occurred to me to compose one, but maybe I should. Thank you so much for a lovely comment, dear Mimi.

      Like

  4. I’ll have to check that out—-that one-eyed soup! Will it look back at you while you’re eating it? 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes, and I choose to ignore it.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. AAAAAAHHHHHHHH-! 😀

        Liked by 1 person

  5. brendochka39 says:

    My maternal grandparents were from Zhitomir, and my grandfather’s name was Berel. What are the odds?

    Like

    1. Depending on the year they left, they very well could have known, or at least have heard of my great-grandfather, since he was the Rabbi, and pretty well known. He passed away in 1968. Berel or Berl, as a diminutive of Ber, was a very popular name in Hassidic regions, especially Zhitomir, one of the Hassidic strongholds. Many boys were named Dov Ber, after the Maggid of Mezherich, the second in succession after the founder of Hassidism Baal Shem Tov.
      That being said, I am extremely pleased that you found me, and in response, I found you.
      I wish you a sweet and wonderful year, full of blessings, joy, and success.

      Like

  6. brendochka39 says:

    My maternal grandparents came from Zhitomir, and my grandfather’s name was Berel. What are the odds?

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment