My Grandmother’s Recipes: Part 3, Appetizers.

We are up to holiday appetizers and Part 3 of my story, Beautiful People (click for Part 1Part 2, Part 4Part 5Part 6Part 7).

Part 3
Part 3 cont
part 3 fin

3. Hassidic Jews – from Hassidism, a religious movement originated in Southern Poland in 18th century

4. Reds – supporters of the Red (Bolshevik, later Communist) Army

5. Whites – supporters of the old regime, or Czarist Army

6. Greens – supporters of the Ukrainian Nationalist Army, as well as random gangs or unaffiliated marauders. All of these were warring factions during the Civil War of 1918 – 1920.

7. Vera Kholodnaya – one of the most famous Russian silent movie actresses, analogous to Bette Davis or Marlene Dietrich.

8. Shivah – seven days of mourning following the death of a relative.

9. Birobidjan – an autonomous republic established for Jews by Stalin’s order in 1934, located in the far northeast of the Soviet Union, close to the Chinese border.

10. Shikseh – a woman or girl of non-Jewish birth.

As you will find out when you open the actual appetizer recipes, they are loaded with symbolism meant to bring good luck in the New Year – “a bissele Mazel“!

Enjoy!

25 Comments Add yours

  1. Wow what an eventful and tragic story and interesting information. Just incredible.

    Liked by 3 people

    1. Thank you so much for reading and commenting, dear friend.

      Liked by 2 people

      1. Lakshmi Bhat says:

        I keep wondering about Riva. Her story has happened in the past, is happening and will continue in the future. Thank you.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I truly appreciate your in-depth understanding of my meaning, dear Lakshmi.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. I use red beans a lot, but never thought of making them sweet. Maybe I’ll try this. Maggie

    Liked by 2 people

    1. It is delicious – trust me! Thank you so much, dear Maggie.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Still a good story and a fascinating historic video

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thank you so very much, Derrick.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Doug Thomas says:

    Reading that account reminds me to acknowledge how blessed I have been to live where such tragedies are rare and not part of my experience.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Oh yes, and you have just reminded me of an American lady being asked in an interview about her experience during the war, “We had such terrible hardships! I couldn’t get silk stockings anywhere!”
      That was not a joke, Doug; I had actually read it.

      Liked by 2 people

    2. I apologize; I should have thanked you for commenting first, before going out on a rant. Very rude of me – I am sorry!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Doug Thomas says:

        No offense taken, Dolly! There were shortages and rationing here during WWII, of course, but that lady’s comment…!

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Well, during occupation in Odessa, which lasted about a year, there was a man who was selling fried meat cakes. The question, of course, was, where did he get meat in a starving city? Then it was noticed that his mother-in-law disappeared… then his wife…
        After the war he was arrested and brought to court. The female judge, before pronouncing the verdict, remarked, “I can understand the mother-in-law; in fact, we can all understand, don’t we? But your own wife!” To which the guy replied, “Would it have been better if I grabbed someone else’s wife?”
        This is not one of Odessa legends; I read court transcripts, while researching for a series of stories about Odessa under occupation.

        Like

      3. Doug Thomas says:

        Sadly, people do what they have to do to survive. The Donner party is another example, as is the air crash in the Andes several years ago. No one was murdered, but deceased people were utilized for food. The USSR has other instances, I know, in the early days and during WWII in besieged cities like Odessa, Stalingrad, and others.

        Liked by 1 person

      4. Odessa was occupied, while both Leningrad and Stalingrad were besieged.
        It’s the judge’s remark and the man’s response that were interesting, I thought.

        Liked by 1 person

  5. A family’s life, good, not so good, and up and down. I do love your stories.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much for your kind comment, dear Mimi.

      Like

  6. Beautiful post please like my post freinds

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much for reading and commenting, dear friend.

      Like

  7. All your posts are delicious, Dolly! ❤ ❤ ❤

    Like

    1. Thank you so much, dear Anna; you are very kind.

      Like

  8. Family stories…are the tastiest predinner goodies!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much, dear friend.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Appetizer—you’re very welcome friend!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment