Tindora with Balls and Quote #2

Today is Day 2 of the Three-Day-Three-Quote challenge that my purple friend Melinda of https://purpleslobinrecovery.wordpress.com/ got me into. Thank you, Melinda, for tempting me with this challenge!

The rules are:

  1. Three quotes over three days.
  2. Three nominees each day (no repetition).
  3. Thank the person who nominated you.
  4. Inform the nominees.

My nominees for Day 2 are:

Somehow I always end up doing more than it is necessary.Today I am offering you, Beautiful People, two quotes for the price of one.

lindsey-e-archer-orange-why-fit-in-when-you-were-born-to-stand-out-dr-seuss-be-yourself-everyone-else-is-already-taken-oscar-wilde-quote-wood-transfer-art

I am what I am (that’s already a third quote in one day!), and a while ago a great blogger and a wonderful cook called me intrepid. I took it as a compliment, and called my next post Intrepid New World. (please click here).  If you just looked it up, you are already familiar with Tindora. If not, let me introduce you:

Tindora.jpg

It’s an adorable Indian vegetable, otherwise known as Ivy Gourd, that looks like a mini-cucumber, but is actually closer to a tiny zucchini. I’ve been trying all kind of different things with it, mostly pickles, salads,and side dishes.

Tin Bls 1.jpg

Finally, my Tindora got sick and tired of always being in the background and demanded a more important position. “We are all grown up and important enough to be a main dish, – demanded the Tindies, – give us some balls!”

Tin Bls 2.jpg

Balls we got – meatless vegan meatballs that I would usually defrost for a quick go-to gluten free spaghetti and meatballs dinner when I am pressed or time. To combine them with Tindies looked like another one of my intrepid experiments. But just to replace pasta with such a cute little vegetable and smother it in my homemade tomato sauce seemed blah… Something else was needed – ah! Another veggie!

Crmy Mshrm Qnoa 1.jpg

We got mushrooms, with ginger, turmeric, and cilantro, to support the little Tindies!

crd mshrm 1.jpg

But first we have to saute some minced onion and garlic,with grated ginger and turmeric and chopped cilantro, then add Tindies and mushrooms, both sliced in half, and let them cook together and become good friends. Once mushrooms darken and soften and Tindies get some suntan, it’s time to season.

crd mshrm 3a.jpg

I used cumin, paprika, and cinnamon, some sea salt and Garam Masala. I figured, I had to make my Tindies more comfortable, so I gave them at least one traditional Indian spice. Now they were ready to be mixed with meatballs, so I threw the balls into the pan and briefly seared them on all sides. Then I reduced the heat and let the whole mess simmer together for a few minutes so that the meatballs could absorb the flavors.

tin-bls-3

The meatballs came out juicy, the mushrooms were soft and flavorful, and Tindora – simply divine! You can probably replicate this recipe with young and very firm zucchini, but I am firmly convinced that Tindora was born to stand out!

INGREDIENTS

  • 1/2 lb Tindora (Ivy Gourd)
  • 1/2 lb mushrooms
  • 1 tablespoon olive oil
  • 1/2 medium size onion, minced
  • 2 – 3 garlic cloves, minced
  • 1/2 inch ginger, grated
  • 1 inch yellow turmeric, grated
  • A handful of fresh cilantro, chopped
  • 10 – 12 meatless meatballs
  • A pinch of cumin
  • A pinch of cinnamon
  • A pinch of paprika
  • A pinch of Garam Masala
  • Salt to taste
  • Optional: if too dry, add a splash of light sweet wine.

PROCEDURE

  • Saute onion and garlic with grated ginger and turmeric and chopped cilantro in olive oil.
  • Add mushrooms and Tindora, sliced in half. Season with cumin, cinnamon, paprika, Garam Masala, and salt. Cover, saute together until mushrooms are almost done. Stir occasionally.
  • Add meatballs, sear on all sides. Reduce heat, cover, simmer for 5 minutes. Serve hot.

Enjoy!

13 Comments Add yours

  1. This looks very delicious 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thank you – glad you like it!

      Liked by 2 people

  2. Great quotes and recipe…couldn’t eat the tindora though…too cute! Lol!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thank you, Samantha! Perhaps you can substitute some other vegetable that you can eat?

      Liked by 2 people

  3. Thank you for the nomination, I would love to participate and thank you for the opportunity,

    Liked by 2 people

    1. I am so glad you are jumping in – thank you!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Thank you for the nomination

        Liked by 2 people

  4. Hi Dolly. I love your writing style. So glad we became friends!
    Do they taste like cukes, or zucchini?
    I LOVE cumin!
    I’d never heard of Tindora before.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. So am I, friend! I had not heard of Tindora, as well as many other Indian veggies and spices until my husband discovered this fabulous Indian store, and I started raiding it. I love my discoveries! They don’t taste like cukes, even when pickled. They taste like those baby zucchini they serve in fancy restaurants and charge you a fortune for them.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Congrats to your husband for being a fabulous treasure hunter!
        People pay money for zucchini???
        lol

        Liked by 1 person

      2. You mean you’ve never seen a $45 entree with a tiny piece of meat or fish on it and three steamed baby veggies, about 1 inch long each, tied together by a chive with a bow, and a blob of something green a slimy on the side called a sauce?

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Nope. Taco Bell and McDonald’s don’t serve those! lol

        Liked by 1 person

      4. Right you are! 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

