Beets and Beans Napoleon

The Napoleon invasion on this blog continues!  But there won’t be any Napoleonic wars; on the contrary, this post is a joint project by Carol of Cooking For The Time Challenged and myself. Carol is a talented blogger, a creator of fabulous recipes, but most of all, a great parent. A while ago, I posted a recipe for Eggplant Napoleon (to see it, please click here).  As creative as she is, Carol immediately cooked up something delicious called Lentils Napoleon. After an exchange of comments and ideas, a momentous decision was reached: we will do a joint post (neither one of us has the slightest idea about the logistics of it!) featuring two different vegetable Napoleons. Since I have since posted my “tried and true” Dairy Free Beets Napoleon (to see the recipe, please click here), I have taken the structure of it and incorporated Carol’s idea of beans as a filling. My “partner in crime” together with her very talented teenage daughter Raizel has created something spectacular –  please click here to see her Zucchini Tofu Napoleon – so, Beautiful People, you get two for the price of one!

Asbly Req 1

Small young beets are the best for this. Don’t peel them, but scrub them well under running water. For instructions on baking young beets, please go to my Dairy Free Beets Napoleon post (click here).

B&B 2.jpg

While the beets are baking, we can make the creamy filling. Well, as creamy as any beans can get. On the spur of the moment,  I decided that lentils will not provide a color contrast with beets. And what a lucky coincidence: I have just started cooking yellow split peas for a soup (stay tuned for this one!).  As I was about to throw them into the food processor together with garlic and cilantro, it occurred to me that walnuts, used in Eggplant Napoleon  – the starting point of this Napoleon invasion –  might not go so well with split peas. So I tasted, and didn’t like the combination. Next, I performed a similar taste test on almonds, and it was great! In they went, to be pulverized into a paste together with the first three ingredients.

B&B 3.jpg

I prefer to process ingredients together with spices and seasoning. I think they blend better this way, but then it’s only my opinion. Before I pressed that button, I added cumin, cinnamon, light wine vinegar, and salt and pepper. Whirrrl! And don’t forget to scrape the sides of the bowl.

B&B 4.jpg

This is as creamy as it gets, but it should be very soft and well blended. Your beets should be ready by now, too.

 

B&B 5.jpg

Slice your beets paper thin.  I don’t have a mandoline veggie slicer, but I have a nice set of ceramic knives that slice like a dream. When my husband is not at home to do the slicing, that is.

B&B 6.jpg

Start assembling by layering slices of beats with filling. Build individual stacks as tall as you want. I made mine of one beet each, which was 6 to 8 layers. Don’t worry about your “Leaning Tower of Pisa” collapsing; the bean paste will securely hold it together.

B&B 7

You should end with some filling on top and sprinkle some cilantro on it. You could serve individual portions, like I did, or, if you have larger company, arrange them on a pretty platter on a bed of baby lettuce, or something equally fresh and crispy looking and light green.  Now, I know it looks beautiful, but then, my cat figurines will make anything look beautiful! But it also came out delicious, as my husband enthusiastically confirmed.

Thank you, Carol, for an opportunity to partner with you and to benefit from your creative approach to cooking, parenting, and ultimately, to life!  I can’t help but include this song:

 

INGREDIENTS

  • 2 – 3 small young beets
  • 1 cup split yellow peas, cooked (1/2 cup uncooked)
  • 1 -2 large garlic cloves
  • 1/2 cup raw almonds
  • 1/4 cup fresh chopped cilantro and more for garnish
  • 1 tablespoon light wine vinegar
  • A pinch of cumin
  • A pinch of cinnamon
  • Salt and pepper to taste

PROCEDURE

  • Preheat oven to 350. Scrub beets under running water, pat dry. Bake tightly covered for 1 hour. Remove, put aside to cool.
  • Rinse split peas, cook according to instructions on package.
  • Place cooked split peas in food processor, add the rest of ingredients. Process until smooth and creamy. Scrape the sides to make sure it is well blended.
  • Slice beets paper thin. Assemble individual stacks by layering split pea paste between beet slices.
  • End with filling on top, garnish with cilantro.

Enjoy!

 

42 Comments Add yours

  1. I will try and post mine later today.😊

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Looking forward to it!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I am working on it now.🐣

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Love the combination of beets and split peas. This is a wonderful recipe 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thank you so much! I am glad you like it!

      Liked by 1 person

    1. I love your post – photos of Raizel’s hands working in the kitchen are great, and your write-up is fantastic! And, of course, Raizel’s artwork from camp is truly precious and inspiring! This is a very special girl you have K”Y”H!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. She did a great job. I was nervous with her slicing the zucchini, but, she did it!

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I am updating my post to link to yours and to add a few words – stay tuned!

        Liked by 1 person

      3. I will do the same tomorrow.sleep time.😴

        Liked by 1 person

      4. Good night and a Gut Voch!

        Like

  3. I love it. I also love the song. This was lots of fun and I learned a lot. You are an excellent teacher!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thank you, and I keep wondering, if you don’t mind, what are the groups that you are running? What do you do?

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I am a psychiatric nurse. I work in geriatric psychiatry and I run groups on positive aging, PTSD and meditation. It’s really great and very meaningful.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I am more and more impressed the more I get to know you! It is certainly a great and very meaningful job, but to be able to handle that in addition to a special parenting job at home – you deserve two Purple Hearts (I believe that every nurse deserves one to begin with)!

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Thank you for your kind words. I became a nurse because I spent to much time in the hospital with Yaffa. When I saw what the nurses did, I thought, “this is a great job. I could do this.”

        Like

      4. I meant to tell you that I have a blog for non food topics coffeeklatchinsight.wordpress.com

        Liked by 1 person

      5. I’ll go see – love a good shmooze!

        Liked by 1 person

      6. I am too overwhelmed with emotion to comment on your other site. I can only say that you are indeed very special parents, and that’s why you are gifted with special children.

        Liked by 1 person

      7. As my sister would say, “I know God only gives me what I can handle, but sometimes I wish He didn’t think I was so competent.”😍

        Liked by 1 person

      8. I’ve heard this one before, and the answer to it is, Mida k’neged Mida. Competence is gained on the way to a goal, and when the goal is righteous, He helps you long. It’s the courage to start on that way that’s needed.

        Liked by 1 person

      9. Oh, I am still crying over your other blog. The stories I could tell you…

        Liked by 1 person

      10. I can only imagine. Although perhaps I can. I live it.🐣

        Liked by 1 person

      11. True. And I cry over every child who doesn’t get the treatment, and education to help them actualize to their full potential!

        Liked by 1 person

      12. They were fortunate to have you at their school. That is a job you can only do with a full heart.

        Liked by 1 person

      13. Same as yours, and you have two of them, one at work and one at home!

        Liked by 1 person

      14. Tefillah is the answer. I daven constantly to Hashem for guidance, strength and protection.

        Liked by 1 person

      15. Of course! And even though I’ve been retired from school for almost three years now, I still light candles and daven for all my former students, and all children in need.

        Liked by 1 person

  4. Sumith Babu says:

    Love beetroot of any kind. With split peas the combination is amazing!! Love it. Thanks for this share Dolly.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Dear Sumith, as I don’t have your artistic skills to create incredible presentations, I try to make up for it by dishes and cats – I have quite a few of those! The charger plate is a traditional Georgian (country, not state) bronze engraving – not gold, but it shines. Thank you for all the compliments!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Sumith Babu says:

        That shine on the plate really makes the dish very vibrant!!

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Thank you, I was more looking for a reflection on the polished wood, as well as a neutral but rich looking background for any and all serving dishes. I guess I got more than I was looking for!

        Liked by 1 person

  5. This looks and sounds amazing! Can’t wait to give it a try 💜

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! I am glad you like it and I hope you enjoy it!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I have no doubts 😊

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment