Bitten by a Chicken – Honey Chicken Bites

Posted by KOOLKOSHERKITCHEN on EDIT

I have been remiss, Beautiful People, both in reading your posts and answering your kind comments. Please accept my sincere apologies! Once the holidays are over, and I have a chance to catch up with reviewing student papers, I will start catching up with the blogosphere. Meanwhile, here is another holiday recipe.

Have you ever been bitten by a chicken? No? Chicken don’t bite? Are you sure? What about figuratively, rather than literally, when a whole bunch of people, almost three million of them, got bitten, that is, obsessed, by the same idea? It happened about thirty three hundred years ago, and those people were by no means hungry. In fact, they have just escaped harsh slavery in Egypt, witnessed the entire Egyptian army drowned, accepted the Divine Law – the Torah – and were fed miraculous food, Man (Manna from Heaven). It looked like pearl barley and it tasted “like pastry baked in honey” (Exodus 16:31).

depositphotos_32606915-stock-photo-moses-leads-the-jews-in

Actually, they didn’t even need sun block, as they were surrounded by a Divine Cloud that provided an equivalent of perfect climate control, in the same way as Man was the Divine Food that offered perfect nourishment. But you know human nature! The same, albeit perfect, food for forty years, day in and day out? Nah, we want variety. We can just imagine a bite of chicken breast, tender and juicy, flavored just right and cooked to perfection – ahhhh!

“No problem, guys!” – said the A-mighty, and in His infinite Wisdom and Kindness, made Man taste “like whatever one imagined” (Ibid.)

surpreme-sukkah_sukkaheurope

To commemorate those forty years in the desert, every year we build booths called Sukkoth and dwell (or at least eat) in them for eight days. This is not a photo of our Sukkah (Google image credit), but ours looks exactly like that. Climate control clouds would’ve been extremely helpful in South Florida, but a couple of fans, strategically positioned, serve us and our guests just fine.

honey chkn bites 1.jpg

I think I’ve been bitten by a chicken too, but my idea was to flavor it with honey. Honey plays a significant role in Judaism, to the extent that on Rosh Hashana, the Head of the Year, AKA the Jewish New Year, we dip first challah, and then apple into honey, for a sweet year. In my family tradition, we dip challah in honey instead of salt until the end of Sukkoth. But first I dipped my chicken bites into flour. I discovered this great kosher GF flour that works beautifully with every recipe, so I cut a couple of chicken breasts into bite size cubes and dusted them with it. You can use regular all-purpose flour, if you prefer.

honey chkn bites 2.jpg

Then I covered them and baked them for twenty minutes at 350 F. Remember to mist your baking pan with oil, and mist the chicken bites on top as well, before putting them in the oven. Uncover and bake them for five more minutes.

honey chkn bites 3.jpg

Meanwhile, we can flavor honey with soy sauce, lemon juice, and grated ginger. A few hundred years after the forty-year desert experience, a great judge and hero Shimshon (Samson) posed a famous riddle:  “From the devourer came forth food; and from the strong came out sweetness” (Shoiftim 14). The riddle was based on a curious incident. Walking in the desert (here is the desert again!), Shimshon killed a lion who was attacking him – literally tore the lion apart with his bare hands!- and, having returned to that spot after a while, found bees who made their home in the lion’s belly. The bees, as the bees do, were busily producing honey, teaching us an important concept: from the negative comes positive – the sweetness of honey.

honey chkn bites 4.jpg

Let’s pour our flavored honey over chicken bites and sprinkle some sesame seeds, for a little crunch. Five more minutes in the oven; meanwhile, let’s get into the fun part of Sukkoth – shaking the Lulav and Ethrog.

The “Four Kinds” or “Four Species” that you see being shaken symbolize the unity of different kinds of people, different levels of knowledge, different customs, traditions, beliefs, and observances. We all come together in the Sukkah, surrounded by blessings, and sending blessings every day to all people of the world.

This is how I will serve my Honey Chicken Bites tomorrow, when the holiday starts. They could be served as an appetizer or a main course, and they are equally delicious hot, warm, or cold. With this not exactly miraculous, but very meaningful food I wish Hag Sameach, a Freileche Yom Tov – a happy holiday to one and all!

INGREDIENTS

  • 2 chicken breasts, boneless and skinless, cubed bite size
  • 1/4 cup all-purpose flour (gluten free or regular)
  • 4 tablespoons honey
  • 2 tablespoons soy sauce
  • 2 tablespoons lemon juice
  • 1 inch (2.5 cm) ginger, grated
  • Sesame seeds to sprinkle

PROCEDURE

  • Preheat oven to 350 F. Lightly mist baking pan with oil.
  • Dredge chicken bites through flour. Shake off excess flour, place chicken bites on baking sheet, mist them with oil, cover, bake for 20 minutes.
  • Uncover chicken bites, bake for 5 minutes.
  • Mix honey with soy sauce, lemon juice, and ginger. Pour over chicken bites, sprinkle with sesame seeds, bake for 5 minutes.
  • Serve hot, warm, or cold.

Enjoy!

62 Comments Add yours

  1. BERNADETTE says:

    I so enjoyed reading this post. The information is so new to me and your humor is so refreshing. I am going to do holiday recipe posts starting November 1. If you have a Hanukkah story and recipe you would be willing to share, I would be grateful to have it.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. I do have a set of Chanukkah stories with recipes which I was planning to repeat. You are welcome to use any them. I would specifically recommend https://koolkosherkitchen.wordpress.com/2020/12/06/but-hannah-did-not-have-potatoes-latkes-with-a-tropical-twist-5/.
      However, if you want a brand new post, please let me know, and I’ll start thinking.

      Like

    1. Thank you so much, dear Dorothy.

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much, dear Susie. Sending blessings your way…

      Liked by 1 person

  2. May your holiday bring you nothing but joy and blessings!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Amen! Thank you so much, dear Mimi. Many blessings to you and your family.

      Like

  3. purpleslob says:

    Yum!! since hens have no teeth, how bad could a bite be?? God is such a wonderful Provider!! ❤ I don't think I've told you, my college roommate, and hubby live in Israel!! And their oldest daughter, married an Israeli!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ha! How about that! Do you keep in touch with her?

      Liked by 1 person

      1. purpleslob says:

        Oh yes! We face Book each other, and PM. We love each other for 43 years now. I can’t believe I’m that old!! lol ❤

        Liked by 1 person

      2. You are not old, my favorite purple person! I am older than you and I am still eighteen, and will be till the end!

        Liked by 1 person

      3. purpleslob says:

        Yes, you are eternally young!! I however, am not 18 anymore!! Maybe 35, I’ll say. ❤

        Liked by 1 person

      4. As long as you feel comfortable with 35, darling. As my great-grandmother used to say, “A lady should choose the age she is most comfortable with and stay with it for the rest of her life.” I give you a blessing to stay 35 to 120!

        Liked by 1 person

      5. purpleslob says:

        Thank you, my dear, feline Dolly!! I was too foolish at 18 still!! By 35, I was pretty well grown up. But not completely!! lol ❤

        Liked by 1 person

      6. Oh, by the time I was 18, I had been arrested twice already. Jail, even for one night, makes one grow up real quick!

        Liked by 1 person

      7. purpleslob says:

        Oh my! Never would have guessed that!! But I’m sure it does!! Even going in there to minister changed me!

        Liked by 1 person

      8. Well, I was very active in the anti-communist government movement since my teenage years, One of the Holocaust sites called Babi Yar is near Kiev, and part of my family perished there. So when memorial services at Babi Yar were organized by adult activists, I was among 16- and 17-year-olds who participated for two years. The same adult activists made sure they had alerted Western reporters who made sure to snap pictures of the garbage dump made by the Soviets on top of over 100,000 slaughtered Jews. We, boys and girls under 18, were not responsible according to the Soviet Criminal Code, but they still picked us up after the services and threw us in jail where they kept us overnight. That was meant to scare us but it didn’t.
        Our efforts did come to fruition; there is a memorial in Babi Yar now.

        Liked by 1 person

      9. purpleslob says:

        Thank God they felt you weren’t responsible!! I can’t believe the absolute inhumane cruelty of some people!! A garbage dump just added insult to injury. Thank y’all for all your efforts! A memorial at least lets you know the people are remembered. ❤

        Liked by 1 person

      10. I thank you for your compassion and understanding, dear purple person!

        Liked by 1 person

      11. purpleslob says:

        Always my pleasure, my dear feline friend. ❤ Love, hugs

        Liked by 1 person

      12. Hugs right back to you and many blessings!

        Liked by 1 person

  4. CarolCooks2 says:

    A beautiful post, dear Dolly and the chicken sounds delicious I love the addition of honey to soy sauce 🙂 x

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much, dear Carol!

      Liked by 1 person

  5. esmesalon says:

    Dear Dolly, Long time no speaks. Not sure how it happened but I have not seen your posts for quite some time, and today saw your Honey Chicken Bites and knew I will get another awesome post to read and on top of that an awesome recipe as well.
    Good to connect again. Take care friend.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It’s wonderful to see you hear again, dear Esme. I also have not seen your posts for a long time; I think it’s all WP gremlins playing.
      I am so glad you like my post, dear friend.
      I hope you are well and keeping safe!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. esmesalon says:

        Yes all well on this side and doing well. Take care my friend Dolly

        Liked by 1 person

      2. You too, dear Esme.

        Like

  6. This looks like the ultimate sweet and sour. The video is delightful and the symbolism inspirational.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much, Derrick.

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much for relogging, dear Edward.

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much, dear Michael.

      Like

      1. ;-)) Thank you as well, for always best information, and great entertainment, Dolly! xx Michael

        Liked by 1 person

      2. You are too kind, Michael.

        Like

  7. What a wonderful arrangement. Beeing honestm i have used honey with some chicken dishes, and it was wonderful. Thanks for sharing another very informative, and also funny posting. Have a nice week. xx Michael

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Well, Michael, as my husband is pre-diabetic, I cheat – use either agave or a mix of homey and agave, but I also make quite a few chicken dishes with honey / agave.
      Have a great weekend, dear friend!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Oh, i am sorry for this. But its always better sweeten without sugar. Have a great weekend as well. xx Michael

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I do plan meals around my husband’s dietary needs, so I see it as an extra challenge to inspire creativity, and he loves the food, so everybody wins. 😻

        Like

  8. Gail says:

    Mmmm. Deliciousness. The chicken sounded tempting, but when you added honey and sesame, I started drooling. 💦

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much, dear Gail! 😻

      Liked by 1 person

  9. Americaoncoffee says:

    A great recipe, story and commemoration. 👍👍💐

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much, darling!

      Like

  10. Lulu: “Mmmm, chicken …”

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yeah, Lulu girl, but Mama doesn’t let us have any… Sigh…
      The Cat Gang

      Like

  11. lghiggins says:

    This is such a fun post. Relax and catch up. We will all be here enjoying your reruns in the meanwhile.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much, dear Linda; you are very kind.

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much for reblogging, dear friend.

      Like

  12. If I recall, God, also, sent a flock of quails (Num. 11: 31-33). Quail and chicken are closely related. You’ve given us a dish even picky eaters are bound to enjoy, Dolly! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You are so right, dear Anna, and I have not even thought of that. Thank you so much, dear friend!

      Like

  13. Andy Oldham says:

    Love how you teach and instruct together. Good information and good food!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much for your kind comment, dear friend.

      Liked by 1 person

  14. adilsherazi says:

    wow its so delicios

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much, dear friend.

      Like

Leave a comment