Cuba Libre or Morena Cake

I think some of you Beautiful People, have not seen my first few recipes, so I decided to repeat some of them. Here is a sweet one!

I made this new cake for Shabbos. This is how it came about. I am a frequent visitor and sometimes contributor to http://www.myrecipemagic.com (look me up there!). As I was browsing through two-or-three-ingredient desserts – I love those! – I discovered a combination of cake mix and soda pop, with frosting on top. I am sorry I have not noted the name of the author of this recipe, to give her credit – my bad!

cake 1
I happened to have a Devil’s Food cake mix and Pillsbury Chocolate Fudge frosting in my pantry, to make brownies for the first Shabbos after Pesach (will post that recipe when I make them next time). Since I am from Odessa, and in Odessa, we cook with wine and bake with brandy, and since kosher brandy (or cognac, if you will) is unbelievably expensive, I have learned to use rum instead. Even though most rum connoisseurs recommend using white rum for mixed drinks and for baking, I prefer dark spiced rum. It adds notes of vanilla and cinnamon which creates a more sophisticated taste. But it’s up to you – choose your own.

cake 2.jpgSo I poured off a jigger of coke (about 1.5 fl oz) and replaced it with a shot of rum. I added both liquids to the dry mix and beat it with a mixer on high speed until it turned into a creamy mass, about 3 minutes. As I licked the mixer blades clean – hey, childish delights never die! – it seemed to me a little too sweet, almost cloying. Well, sure, a Cuba Libre drink is not complete without a slice of lime or a squirt of lemon! Perhaps some tangy jam will do the trick?

cake 3.jpg

I used Smuckers’s Blackberry jam, but Blueberry or Sour Cherry are good alternatives. Note that the Coke is diet and the jam is sugar free. I have tried sugar free frosting in the past and was not satisfied with the taste, but I do try to cut calories wherever possible.

cake 4

I used two 8×8 pans because I suspected that it would come out so light and airy that it would be very hard to cut it in two sheets to insert jam in the middle. So I baked the two sheets instead, cooled them really well – otherwise they were about to disintegrate! – and shmeared the jam on the bottom one. I covered the top and sides with frosting and, abiding by the first two of My Own Rules of Desserts (Rule #1: It’s not a dessert without chocolate; Rule #2: The more chocolate, the better!), added some chocolate sprinkles. Garnishing with berries and mint will also work very nicely and look festive.

cake 5.jpg

Cuba Libre is one of my favorite drinks. It’s just rum and coke, with some lime or lemon. The story goes that it was invented by Americans who assisted Cubans during the Spanish American war. The battle cry was ¡Por Cuba Libre! (To Free Cuba), thus the name of the drink. I also thought that a fitting name for this cake would be Morena, which in Spanish means Dusky or Dark-complectioned lady. Help me choose the name! Meanwhile, listen to our local celebrity Alex Fox singing Morena!Morena! while you are baking this funky creation.

INGREDIENTS

  • 1 box of cake mix
  • 1 can of soda pop minus one jigger, or shot (1.5 fl oz)
  • 1 jigger or shot of rum
  • Jam to taste
  • Frosting to taste
  • Garnishing optional: chocolate sprinkles or chips, mint sprinkles, or berries

PROCEDURE

  • Add soda pop and rum to the cake mix, beat with mixer at high speed for about 3 minutes until you get a creamy mass.
  • Preheat oven to 350.
  • Divide mixture equally between two oiled 8×8 baking pans. Bake for 35 minutes or until toothpick inserted in the middle comes out dry.
  • Cool well in pans.
  • Remove from pans and arrange one sheet on the serving platter. You will not be able to transfer it later on.
  • Spread jam evenly on the bottom sheet and cover with the second sheet. Spread frosting on top and sides, garnish.

Enjoy!

Good Shabbos!  

35 Comments Add yours

  1. Dolly dear – just an FYI – the video on this post = not available

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’ll check and resend to you or eliminate it – whichever works. Thank you for telling me, and sorry about it!

      Like

      1. I revisited the video and said receive a message “this video is unavailable” and on YouTube the following message: This video is no longer available because the YouTube account associated with this video has been terminated.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Interesting! He is a friend of ours, so I’ll find out. Meanwhile, I will fix the post one way or another.

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Thanks dear – I do not have an issue with it, just wanted to let you know as other followers may also run into this issue. Hope you can resolve it. ❤

        Liked by 1 person

      4. I fixed it by replacing the video with another one. It works now. Thank you again for letting me know! 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      5. Thank you funky cat. 😻😻😻

        Liked by 1 person

      6. Por nada, as they say here! I did what needed to be done, and I thank you bringing it to my attention.

        Liked by 1 person

      7. My dear, sorry to say but its not working. Not sure what’s up.

        Liked by 1 person

      8. I just checked, and it worked. Please try this link and let me know. Sorry to put you through so much trouble!
        https://koolkosherkitchen.wordpress.com/2016/08/26/cuba-libre-or-morena-cake-vote/

        Liked by 1 person

      9. Thank you. Its working. I will use this link in my post. 😻😻😻😻😻😻😻. Thanks dear.

        Liked by 1 person

      10. Thank you for putting in all this time and effort!

        Liked by 1 person

      11. Funky cat – anything for you, and it’s not worth mentioning. ❤

        Liked by 1 person

      12. You are too sweet!

        Liked by 1 person

      13. I will check it out tomorrow. Off to 💤💤💤 now, so good night.

        Liked by 1 person

      14. Good night dear!

        Liked by 1 person

      15. Not sure what’s up but link still not working. Sorry about that funky cat

        Liked by 1 person

      16. Perfect. Its working with this link. Will update my post.

        Liked by 1 person

      17. Thank you so much, and again, sorry to have caused all the trouble!

        Liked by 1 person

      18. Trouble, I do not know what you’re talking about my dear.

        Liked by 1 person

      19. And again, you are too sweet, dear Esme!

        Liked by 1 person

      20. You’re fantastic funky cat. ♥ you

        Like

      21. Love you right back! 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      22. Funky funky cat ♥

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment