One-minute Chocolate Cake

Who do you think bakes a cake for my birthday?  You guessed it right! Not that my husband can’t cook or bake. He can, and he likes to do it. It’s all my fault – I dread cleaning up after his forays into my kitchen. So while he was at work, I whipped up a little cake for just the two of us. Even though it is sort of a significant date,  I am still not up to celebrating, so I didn’t feel like spending more than a minute on it. Well, two minutes, if you count the frosting. However, I am very strict about My Own Rules of Dessert (please click here), so it must be chocolate, and the more chocolate, the better!

One min chk cake 1.jpg

For my husband’s sake, I try to limit gluten as much as possible. So for this cake, I use whole spelt flour, light brown sugar, olive oil, soy milk, and unsweetened cocoa powder. A pinch of baking powder, a pinch of salt, and a little splash of vanilla extract – that’s all you need.  It helps to mix the dry ingredients first, then add the wet ingredients, and mix really well.

One min chk cake 2.jpg

How did it happen? I almost forgot the secret ingredient – a splash of rum!  Mix it in, it’ll only make it better!

One min chk cake 3.jpg

Here comes the moment of decision. It could be done as a trendy cake-in-a-mug, but I didn’t feel like having something as un-glamorous as that on my birthday. The alternative was to mist a microwavable dish with oil, transfer batter into it and shape it with a spoon. Note: if you try to mix it in that dish, the oil will be absorbed into the batter and the cake will stick to the dish. My intention was to remove it when ready. Microwave it on high for one minute and test by inserting a toothpick. If it comes out dry, the cake is done.  Depending on your microwave, it might require 10 – 15 seconds more. Don’t overdo it as it will be too dry. When ready, take it out of the microwave and let it cool completely.

One min chk cake 3a.jpg

Meanwhile, it only takes a few seconds to mix the frosting. You need some more cocoa powder, soy milk, vanilla extract, and your favorite sugar substitute (I use xylitol). I wanted to make it more liquefied, more as a sauce than frosting, but you can use coconut cream instead of soy milk to make it thick and creamy.  Whisk it briefly just to make sure everything blends nicely and refrigerate it uncovered. This way it thickens a little, but not much.

I know you are all curious about my “significant date”  and trying to figure out the numbers on the cake. My great-grandmother, while in her nineties, once told me that a lady has to choose an age with which she is most comfortable and stick to it for the rest of her life. When I turned 25, I had a phenomenal birthday, with my friends performing (I dare say better than on stage!), and I declared that I would be 18 from now and forever.

I had not celebrated my birthday for many years – simply refused to do it. Until – twenty years ago – I met my husband. I had another significant date coming up, and it coincided with arrival to Miami of my dear friends, the renowned Gypsy star couple, Rada and Nikolai (may he rest in piece) Volshaninov. Unbeknownst to me, my then husband-to-be arranged for a surprise party, invited family and friends, and persuaded Rada, Nikolai, and their daughter Kalinka to perform. Unfortunately, I can’t find any photos of that evening (and there are some!), but this is how they looked then.

IMG_20150614_224823

Twenty years later,  Nikolai (Kolya, as we called him), is no longer with us, but Rada is still singing, as stunning as ever. Sometimes, she still drags me on stage with her!  In my eyes, she is always twenty five.

This is what they looked like when we first met and became friends, in Odessa, during the filming of The Dangerous Tour.  I was almost eighteen then, and they were… oh, well, always twenty five!

One min chk cake 3b.jpg

 

Meanwhile, my cake has cooled off and could be transferred to a serving plate by flipping it upside down. The crusty side has to end up on the bottom.

One min chk cake 4.jpg

By the time the frosting has sufficiently thickened, my husband came home and decided to decorate my birthday cake for me.  On top of liberally spread frosting (as you see, it ran down the sides and is surrounding the cake on the bottom) and some finely ground walnuts – found in the refrigerator – he is trying to make something with blueberries and raspberries. Let’s see!

One min chk cake 5

I don’t know about you, but I can clearly see eighteen! We cut it straight down the middle, between numbers 1 and 8, and it was moist, chocolaty, and scrumptious – the best!

INGREDIENTS

Cake:

  • 1/4 cup spelt flour
  • 2 tablespoons unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 2 tablespoons light brown sugar or xylitol
  • 1/4 teaspoon baking powder
  • Pinch of salt
  • 3 tablespoons soy, coconut, or almond milk (rice milk is too thin)
  • 1 tablespoon olive oil
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1 teaspoon rum

Frosting:

  • 1 1/2 cup soy, coconut, or almond milk (use the same amount of coconut cream for thicker frosting)
  • 4 tablespoons unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1 teaspoon or more Xylitol or any sweetener you prefer

PROCEDURE

  • Mist microwaveable dish with oil. Put aside.
  • In a separate bowl, mix dry ingredients, add wet ingredients, mix thoroughly.
  • Transfer batter to oiled microwaveable dish, shape with spoon.
  • Microwave uncovered on high for 1 minute. Test for doneness by inserting toothpick. If not done, microwave in 5 second increments until done.  Remove, put aside to cool.
  • Briefly whisk frosting ingredients, refrigerate uncovered until cake cools off.
  • Transfer cake to serving plate upside down. Liberally spread frosting.
  • Garnish with ground walnuts and berries.

Enjoy!

 

48 Comments Add yours

  1. Rhythm says:

    Wow this is so delicious and easy. 😀

    Liked by 3 people

    1. Thank you – it really is! Enjoy!

      Liked by 3 people

  2. Happy Birthday! 🙂

    Liked by 3 people

  3. Loved reading your story and the recipe!! It’s lovely 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you sweetheart!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Sumith Babu says:

    Happy birthday Dolly🎂 and that cake sounds easiest and a delicious one. Enjoy your day😊

    Liked by 1 person

  5. theturtle says:

    Loved your story 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  6. theturtle says:

    and that you are celebrating 🙂
    Turtle Hugs

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you sweetheart, and a cat Meow to you!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. theturtle says:

        Oh I like cat Meows

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Great – and we like turtles meow much!

        Liked by 1 person

  7. Happy birthday ❤️ Off to try the 1 minute cake now, will possibly gobble it up in even lesser time!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! Enjoy the cake!

      Liked by 1 person

  8. My kind of cake: minimum time, maximum taste and (almost) instant elegance.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! You’ll have to get Raizel on to those one-minute shticks – I am sure she’ll love it!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. She will! I wonder if I could get her to make it all by herself?

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Why not? There is nothing much to make, and she could do it not only BY herself, but also FOR herself and her sister, if Yaffa is allowed this kind of food. Doing prep for cooking, laying out all she would need, and measuring out ingredients is one of the best strategies to practice sequential short memory skills.

        Liked by 1 person

      3. I will ask her. I have been trying to get her to do something like this for a while.

        Liked by 1 person

      4. How about trying to get her to ask you if she could do it – turn the tables on her, so to speak?

        Liked by 1 person

      5. A little tricky. My biggest problem is that she starts out interested, and then gets distracted and leaves it only half done. This quality can be quite funny. But, I think that I will show her your blog, and let her see the recipe and that might motivate her. She actually likes looking at all the blogs I follow and tells me which recipes she wants me to make. And then, she remembers! There was one recipe for peanut butter chocolate brownies that she is still talking about.

        Liked by 1 person

      6. It’s great that she is interested! As to leaving half-time, it’s totally normal. That’s why a one-minute cake is perfect for her – no time to get distracted.

        Liked by 1 person

  9. Dear Dolly, belated birthday greetings! Thank you for the story, the video and the recipe – just on time for my big day. Off to the kitchen now to rehearse 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I hope your big day is as beautiful and exciting as mine was! To 120!

      Liked by 1 person

  10. sasha says:

    Yummy😋😋😁

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Reblogged this on koolkosherkitchen and commented:

    A great and insanely industrious blogger Henrietta Watson of All About Writing and More has offered a daily prompt: Romance. I thought this post was quite fitting, and anyway, I don’t know anything more romantic than Gypsy music. Except the romantic attention of one’s spouse, of course…

    Like

    1. Thank you so much, I am glad you like it!

      Like

  12. Balvinder says:

    Happy 18th Dolly 😉
    The cake looks delicious!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you dear Bal! It’s a reblog; my actual birthday was in August, but I’ll take your good wishes any time!

      Like

      1. Balvinder says:

        My birthday comes in August, too.
        How do you reblog? I want to reblog some of my earlier posts.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I think that depends on the design oft your blog. On yours, there is no “like” field. Reblog button is next to likes. I don’t know how to do it with your design, other than to copy an old post completely and paste it into a totally new post.

        Like

  13. Elizabeth says:

    This is a perfect cake for Mr. C and me! Just the right size and CHOCOLATE!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. The more chocolate, the better!

      Liked by 1 person

  14. susieshy45 says:

    Belated happy birthday, Dolly.
    Dolly, you know celebrities – and you perform too ?
    Wow .
    Susie

    Liked by 1 person

    1. No, darling, I don’t perform. I know some older Russian celebrities because I worked for a local TV station when I was young. I don’t sing or dance professionally, but my undergraduate degree was in music. That was many years ago!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. susieshy45 says:

        And are they real gypsies or just that they acted in a movie about gypsies ?
        Susie

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Dear Susie, they are 100% Rom. Rada is from a famous Rom entertainers family that had settled in Moscow in the 50’s, and her late husband was altogether from a legendary nomad, or “true Rom” family. The acted in many films, but in this particular one, they actually played themselves.

        Liked by 1 person

      3. susieshy45 says:

        Wow !
        Romanis are supposed to have moved from Rajasthan in India, centuries back- hence my interest. I would like to hear more about them, if you would post.
        Susie

        Liked by 1 person

      4. I’ll give you a great resource: http://artists-for-roma-net.ning.com
        They are much more qualified than I am since most of them are actually Rom and they are advocates for Romani rights.

        Liked by 1 person

  15. Happy belated birthday, Dolly! I have tried a different recipe for something like this and got it all wrong. I will have to try this recipe and see how it turns out! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you – I’ll take a Happy Birthday any time of the year! Please let me know how it comes out! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

