Double Chocolate Avocado Mousse

It’s summer, everybody is trying to look slim and feel healthy; meanwhile, all of you, beautiful people, crave some exceedingly decadent, sinfully chocolate desserts – confess! Relax, you are not alone, as confirmed by the classics. Here is my quote for today:

funny-easter-2013-awesome-pictures-daily-quotes-derp-and-derpina-funny-cartoons-favim-com-672746

You see – even Charles Dickens felt the same way! However, we do want to stay slim and healthy, so numerous chocolate avocado mousse recipes have been popping all over the internet for a number of years already. Mine is just another take on it.

avcdo ms 1.jpg

A couple of ripe Haas avocados get peeled, chunked, and dropped into a food processor or blender, followed by soy milk, blue agave, a splash of vanilla extract, and, of course, unsweetened cocoa powder. Press the button and, while it’s whirling, entertain your kids with a chocolate song.

By the time the song is finished, so is your mousse. You might want to check on it to see if the sides should be scraped and give it a taste, in case you want to add a bit more agave or make it a little thinner by adding a little more soy milk.

avcdo ms 2.jpg

You know what a chocolate mousse looks like – just make sure it’s blended to uniform silky smoothness. But I always abide by My Own Rules of Dessert, and Rule #2 states, The More Chocolate, the Better (for my rules of dessert, click here)! That’s why I have a hidden resource: sugar-free chocolate chips.

avcdo ms 3

Here it is, your exceedingly decadent, sinfully double chocolate, yet eminently healthy dessert. Indulge yourself and stay slim and healthy the whole summer!

INGREDIENTS

  • 2 ripe avocados
  • 2 heaping tablespoons unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 1/4 cup soy milk or any other milk substitute
  • 3/4 cup agave
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • Sugar free chocolate or carob chips for garnish

PROCEDURE

  • Peel and chunk avocados, place into food processor or blender.
  • Add the rest of the ingredients.
  • Blend well. Scrape the sides, if needed.
  • Serve well chilled, garnished with chocolate or carob chips.

Enjoy!

 

30 Comments Add yours

  1. Sumith Babu says:

    There is nothing better than a friend, unless it’s a friend with chocolate – very true – that too with a Double chocolate avocado mousse😁loved it with that amazing presentation. Thanks for the share Dolly

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Sumith! What amazing presentation? I snap pictures with my phone while chasing the cats away. You are an amazing artist – nobody comes close to you!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Sumith Babu says:

        Don’t be soo generous Dolly😂

        Liked by 1 person

  2. hopeforeoe says:

    Adding the chocolate chips on top, yes that makes it even better, my thoughts exactly;)

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thank you, and thank you for visiting my blog and for the like! I hope you try it, and I definitely hope you like it.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Reblogged this on koolkosherkitchen and commented:

    Happy International Chocolate Day, Beautiful People!

    Like

  4. Elizabeth says:

    I’d never have thought of combing avocados and cocoa! And now that song is stuck in my head!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. The song is addictive, and so is the mousse!

      Liked by 1 person

  5. lghiggins says:

    I love avocados but would never have thought of pairing them with chocolate. I need to give this a try, but I am in the U.S. for a while and have trouble paying $2.00-$2.50 for a “large” avocado. I may have to wait until I return to the avocado capital, Michoacán. Meanwhile, any day is a good day to celebrate chocolate!🎉

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Absolutely – every day should be a chocolate day! $2.50 for an avocado is highway robbery – we pay anywhere from $.79 to $1.

      Liked by 2 people

  6. spearfruit says:

    Double chocolate avocado mousse, sounds like a favorite of mine. Thanks Dolly for this wonderful recipe – I look forward to licking the spoon someday. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I wish I could send it to you somehow, but barring that, are you allowed to have it, and if so, could Gary whip it up for you?

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much; I am so glad you like it!

      Liked by 1 person

  7. I had to make and down a big coffee smoothie thickened with soaked chia seeds before I had the courage to brave this post, Dolly. I usually get SO hungry the minute I see the lovely photo — and feel a strong pull to stop everything, go to the store to buy the ingredients, and make the recipe to be able to TASTE the creamy chocolate goodness for myself.

    My smoothie tactic helped a bit – lol – my tummy is full, so I can wait a day to stock up on avocados (so many things I love that include them).
    xx,
    mgh
    (Madelyn Griffith-Haynie – ADDandSoMuchMORE dot com)
    ADD/EFD Coach Training Field founder; ADD Coaching co-founder
    “It takes a village to transform a world!”

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for all the compliments! I have a question: I am working on the last finishing touches of my book, and I am in a quandary about the cover. Should I make a collage of photos or just choose one that represents the idea of my blog and, consequently, the book? What is your feeling?

      Liked by 1 person

      1. You are most welcome, Dolly – and congrats on the progress on your book.

        I’m not particularly visual, so someone who IS might have better advice, but my instinct is to go for a collage. You have so many lovely photos and your food & presentation look SO good, I’m thinking that more might be better in this instance.

        ONE illustration might speak to some folks, but not so much to others. A variety might inspire at least more curiosity. Just my thoughts.
        xx,
        mgh

        Liked by 2 people

      2. Thank you so much – that’s exactly the kind of feedback I was looking for. I will ask a professional (luckily, the professional is a neighbor, and a lovely and very talented lady), but this is a case where feelings are more important than professional judgement – at least I believe so!

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Sounds like an upcoming blog post – lol. Maybe you could supply an example of each and ask your readers which one speaks to them as the best representation of your blog and what you want to feature on the cover of your upcoming book. LOTS of feelings there!
        xx,
        mgh

        Liked by 1 person

      4. Interesting suggestion – thank you. I have to think about it and consult my professional friend.

        Liked by 1 person

      5. I have a favor to ask: I wanted to nominate you for the Bloggers Blog Award 2017 in the BBA category but I couldn’t figure out the way to do it. Could you go and nominate yourself and then explain to me how it’s done, so I could nominate people in other categories? Here is the link, and thank you in advance! http://www.teapartybeauty.com/2017/07/bloggersblogawards-2017-voting-now-open.html/

        Like

  8. Joëlle says:

    Hi Dolly! I have tried a similar recipe before, and it comes out fine… But my “maman” would scream at the idea of using avocado, not butter, and no egg whites, to make a “mousse au chocolat”! I was wondering if this healthy recipe if I could take it one step further (and please don’t tell my mother 😉) by replacing the agave nectar with date paste, in other words, mashed soft dates…
    I love the Dickens quote!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Dear Joelle, with all due respect to your maman, I generally don’t use butter in my desserts, as I can’t have anything dairy. As to egg whites, I am trying to cut down on cholesterol, so I don’t even have eggs in the house to avoid temptation. You might try to replace agave with date paste, but it is quite a bit thicker, so it will most probably affect the texture. If you try it, please let me know!

      Liked by 1 person

  9. ren says:

    Oh thank you for this post.
    I am going to include it in my next snail mail to g.ma. I know she will love it too.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, dear Ren! You made my day!

      Liked by 1 person

  10. My blog says:

    It’s not very often that I get to appreciate posts that are as great as yours.
    I shared this on my blog. Thank you for posting this.

    Like

    1. Thank you so much for stopping by and for your kind words!

      Like

  11. My blog says:

    It’s not very often that I get to appreciate articles that are as awesome as this.
    I shared this on my twitter. Thank you for posting this.

    Like

    1. Thank you so much for your lovely comment; I am really glad you like it!

      Like

Leave a Reply

