Fish and Cream, and Veggies Too

Dear Beautiful People, my granddaughter Alisia has just been accepted to Barnard, an independent women’s college, which is also one of the Seven Sisters schools and a part of Columbia University, an Ivy League school.

with college fund piggy bank.jpg

To celebrate, she broke her College Fund piggy bank where she found all of $50 – about enough to buy a cup of designer coffee in New York.

1stgrade.png

The little girl who went to 1st grade 12 years ago, grew up so fast…

12thgrade.png…together with her tree. She wants to major in social policies, with emphasis on urban development, and she is quite attuned to social issues.

in her room at 17 yrs old.jpg

Her determined, energetic personality is expressed in the way she decorated her room. This summer, as we visited my son and his family in Boston, Alisia and I spent evenings talking about her plans, her values, her poetry and short stories, and her outlook on life.

poem

Catch a glimpse of her published poem, and here is her explanation of what has prompted it:

Poem explanation.jpg

Alisia is not only a writer; she is an accomplished singer.

Singing in choir

(This image will eventually be replaced by a video which I am unable to upload at the moment, as I am being forced to transition to an upgrade).

Boston collage

What does all this excitement have to do with fish? Nothing but a geographical location. You see, Alisia grew up on the boat, and the boat, like the tree, grew together with her, from a little 16-footer, to a respectable 26 ft, with a cabin and all amenities. The weather decided to cooperate during our visit, and we were ale to go sailing every day. From Boston harbor, we went through the locks into Charles river, where we dropped anchor to have lunch right in front of the famous Harvard Newell boathouse, built in 1900. As a curious cat, I couldn’t help it, but dove overboard and swam close to it to take a look, since entrance from land is not open to public. We also got to see the USS Constitution, “a national icon for more than 200 years” (USS Constitution Museum press release) and even enjoy the re-enactment of the Boston Tea Party.

NE cookbook 1.jpg

Don’t give up – we are coming to the fish now. As we sailed to Manchester (there is a town called Manchester in Massachusetts) with a special purpose to raid my favorite used and rare books store, my son found and presented me with a true gem, A Taste of Gloucester, written and compiled by the fishermen’s wives of Gloucester. This is as authentic, as you can ever get, Beautiful People, and this recipe comes straight from this precious little book.

NE fish 1.jpg

Truly simple, yet delicious, it starts with fresh or frozen fish. The recipe calls for frozen cod or whiting, which are common Northeastern fish, but I happened to have fresh red snapper that flakes just as easily, so in it went into the baking pan, lightly misted with oil. I sprinkled it with salt, pepper, and paprika, arranged mixed vegetables on top and between, and dotted the whole mess with Smart Balance.

NE fish 3.jpg

While the fish was baking, I heated up light pareve (non-dairy) cream, and after 20 minutes poured it over fish and veggies. In it went for five more minutes, and it was ready to serve. These hard-working ladies really knew their stuff!

NE cookbook 3.jpg

A delightful poem by a local poet Yon Swanson that opens this book is a fitting tribute to fishermen’s wives.

NE fish 4.jpg

As fast and easy, and seemingly unsophisticated as it is, this dish is immensely enjoyable in its own rustic fashion, reminiscent of rich and rewarding history of the region. The original recipe is here copied from the book – enjoy!

NE cookbook 2

77 Comments Add yours

  1. A_Boleyn says:

    Congratulations on Alisia’s acceptance to Barnard.

    Liked by 3 people

    1. Thank you so much, dear friend! As you can see, I am on Cloud Nine!

      Liked by 2 people

  2. slmret says:

    That looks delicious!

    Liked by 3 people

    1. Thank you so much; I am so glad you like it!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. You are justifiably proud. And the fish dish is nicely presented

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thank you so much, Derrick! I believe in grandparents’ right to brag.

      Liked by 3 people

  4. Congratulations to your beautiful and smart granddaughter! I hope she enjoys college life, and a fabulous future.

    Liked by 3 people

    1. Thank you so much, dear friend, for your good wishes!

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Wow! Congratulations! Amazing girl – beautiful, talented and smart (no surprise here, having grandma like this 🙂 Love the poem and especially “Why I Made It” story.

    Liked by 3 people

    1. Thank you so much, dear Sasha, and it’s so great to hear from you! Grandmothers have a right to brag, don’t you think?
      Она настолько на меня похожа во всем: интересы, увлечения, вкус, даже голос (вокал, я имею в виду), что мне иногда страшно становится!
      But of course, her upbringing is to my son’s credit.
      Happy New Year to you and yours, dear Sasha!

      Like

  6. weggieboy says:

    Congratulations and best wishes to your granddaughter for her scholastic achievement! That’s a great place to fine tune her knowledge and prepare for success in life!

    Liked by 3 people

    1. Thank you so much, dear friend, for your kind comment. I am exercising grandmother’s right to brag!

      Like

      1. weggieboy says:

        Hey, I think it is a law that you brag up on your grandkids! (It helps that you have one you can credibly brag up on, too! She’s pretty, too!)

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Thank you so much, Doug! I have two more teenage granddaughters who are pretty and smart, but not the same caliber, if you know what I mean. More like “girlie girls” who’ll go to local colleges to find a good husband and have a nice family, which is fine, and nothing is wrong with it. Among all the girls, there is one Prince who is now 8. Let’s see how he develops!

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Thank you so much!

        Liked by 1 person

  7. spearfruit says:

    Great Post Dolly. I enjoyed reading all the accomplishments and future dreams of your beautiful granddaughter and it was especially nice to here a bit about your trip this summer to the Boston area where I grew up in. Thanks for bringing back memories of familiar places in Massachusetts!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thank you so much, Gary!
      Actually, we’ve made our annual pilgrimages up North by car for years, missing only a couple of years when I was laid up with my back issues. It’s always in August, when I am on vacation and the weather there is best, so usually we spend a few days on water, and I take a ton of pictures. What do you think of my practice of combining all photos into collages, rather than posting them individually? Is it better or worse this way?
      Most importantly, how are you feeling, dear friend?

      Like

      1. spearfruit says:

        A little bit rough yesterday and today. Alot of pain and discomfort. Stayed in both days just resting. I felt better on Tues after the surgery and on Wed. Surgeon saud it’s going to take a couple of months for everything to heal. I’ll have to be patient, but wish I was fully healed now.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Just take it easy and don’t overdo it, Gary, and with time, it’ll be fine! Have a restful and peaceful weekend!

        Like

      3. spearfruit says:

        Thanks Dolly. I hope all will be fine. Just very uncomfortable right now.

        Liked by 1 person

      4. My pleasure, Gary! It will be fine, I am sure – sending blessings your way!

        Like

  8. Thanks for this wonderful share, dear Dolly and so nice to see your granddaughter in all her beauty and so much talent she has. God Bless and loved your recipe too. Great and marvelous post.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thank you so much for your lovely comment, dear Kamal! We say that those who bless others, are twice as blessed themselves. Many blessings to you, dear friend!

      Like

      1. Yes absolutely true and agree totally with your words dear Dolly. Welcome.

        Liked by 2 people

  9. mliae says:

    Love this 🙂 And Congratulations!

    Liked by 3 people

    1. Thank you so much, dear friend!

      Liked by 1 person

  10. Great post, and a great cookbook! The Gloucester Fishermen’s Wives still puts out the book and one of the group’s members, is currently our mayor. Many of those recipes are what we grew up with or were created by the ladies I knew as a kid. Lena Novello, one of the founders of the group would always offer me fried fish when I delivered her newspaper.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thank you so much for stopping by! I actually thought of you when I looked through this book. Mine is a 7th edition, and I considered this entire endeavor so emotionally loaded, what’s with the list of captains and their fleet, and the local poets, and the famous statue. I intend to go through it recipe by recipe.
      P.S. Do you want to send your mayor a link to my post?

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Sure, Ill send her an email to let her know. Thanks for thinking of me, I’ll keep an eye out for your seafood posts!

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Seafood posts coming up in the nearest future!
        Have a great weekend!

        Liked by 1 person

  11. sydspix says:

    Congrats to your granddaughter! Sailing sounded wonderful!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thank you so much, dear friend!

      Like

  12. That poem is so touching and true. It has to be difficult to live that life.

    It’s difficult to get my Sweetie to eat fish, i will try this and see how he likes it.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Perhaps when fish is so disguised in cream and veggies, he’ll accept it. Always worth a try…

      Like

  13. Love your recipes and even better, the photos of the results! You inspire me. Congratulations to your beautiful granddaughter, and wishing her every success at school and in making our world a better place.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thank you so much, dear Heather, for a lovely comment and sincere wishes! She is certainly planning to put every effort into making the world a better place. Have a wonderful holiday season!

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much! I am exercising grandmother’s right to brag.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Perfectly legitimate.

        Liked by 1 person

  14. She is a beautiful young lady with a bright future ahead.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thank you so much, dear Jeanne!

      Liked by 1 person

  15. Best wishes to Cloud Nine! 🙂 Congratulations to your granddaughter too. Wonderful poetry, and a big step into the future. MIchael

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thank you so much for your kind wishes, Michael!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. My pleasure, Dr. Dolly! Thank you for the wonderful news. Michael

        Liked by 2 people

      2. Thank you for sharing my joy, Michael!

        Like

    1. Thank you so much, dear friend! It’s great to hear from you. How are you and how are the girls?

      Liked by 1 person

      1. We are B”H doing well. Yaffa has a cold, poor thing, but she is getting better.🥰

        Liked by 2 people

      2. Refuah Sheleima to Yaffa! I’ve heard you’ve been having miserable weather.
        How is school going?

        Liked by 1 person

      3. I am not in school. My mother unfortunately has been quite sick this past year and I have needed to spend a lot of time taking care of her too. The girls are doing well. Of course we are again in arbitration with the school district. I think I could train parents what to do. It is so awful that unless I file papers with the state, the district is so completely dishonest and sneaky. But, fortunately, they are in good places.

        Liked by 1 person

      4. Sorry to hear about your mother’s illness – Refuah Sheleima to her!
        You are so right; someone does have to train parents or serve as a parents’ advocate on issues concerning children with special needs. Very happy to hear that both girls are in good places! You certainly are an exceptional parent – my hat is off to you (the sheitel stays, though).

        Liked by 1 person

  16. K E Garland says:

    Awww! Congrats to you and her. Also, the fish looks amazing!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thank you so much, dear Dr Kathy!

      Liked by 1 person

  17. Great news about Alisia. Congratulations!
    She sounds smart, determined and lovely.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thank you so much, darling! I am exercising grandmother’s right to brag.

      Liked by 1 person

  18. sharonchyy says:

    Interesting and beautiful post . Thanks for sharing.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thank you so much for your kind comment, dear Sharon!

      Like

  19. chattykerry says:

    Wonderful news, Dolly. Your granddaughter is as beautiful as she is accomplished. The apple doesn’t fall far from the Grandmother Tree…🌲
    I wish you a happy holiday. Kx

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thank you so much, dear Kerry (blushing all over the internet). Happy holidays to you and yours!

      Liked by 1 person

  20. A beautiful family!!! Best wishes and happiness throughout this season and always !!❤❤❤

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thank you so much, darling, and the same to you! 😻

      Like

  21. How wonderful!! Barnard has a great reputation. I wish your granddaughter much success! Her major is certainly one close to my heart. I happen to like seafood, as well. My sister and brother-in-law keep the Italian tradition of seven fishes at Christmas Eve. So this post is very timely! 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

    1. So glad my recipe might come to use, dear Anna! Thank you for your lovely comment, and best wishes to you and your family – happy and healthy holidays!

      Liked by 1 person

  22. Joëlle says:

    Congratulations for Alisia, well done! Getting accepted to college, especially such a good one, is so exciting for the entire family!
    On Christmas Day, I went strolling with my daughter in Providence. I thought of you as we walked past Temple Beth-El. Then I spotted a sign for a walk/bike path leading straight from Maine to Florida. I say, Dolly, how about we both start walking now and we meet at Barnard College where Alisia can treat us to a nice cup of hot chocolate — dairy-free, of course 😊.
    Thank you for the recipe, we all like fish, so I think I will be making it before our stay is over. I love old cook books.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much, dear Joelle! That Alisia would be accepted to a good college was not a question, with her grades and her other accomplishments. But she didn’t want Brown, which is my son’s Alma Mater, or Brandeis, which is both her parents’ Alma Mater. Harvard dropped off the discussion table last year already, as being “not very open to artistic freedom,” which was the same reasoning I’d heard from my son, when he had to choose between Harvard and Brown for his graduate studies. Alisia wanted only Barnard, and she got it.
      Meeting half-way is a great idea, but I think I’ll reserve my northbound walking adventure for warmer weather.
      I also love old cook books, and I still have my mother’s Stalin times edition, which recommends, “If you have unexpected guests, don’t worry, open your ice box and take out a jar of beluga caviar.” I am not kidding – it does say that!
      Happy and healthy New Year to you and yours, dear Joelle!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Joëlle says:

        Oh, my! Caviar for unexpected guests! Keep that book, what a treasure!
        All agreed on the walking expedition 😉

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Ha! I am not only keeping this book; sometimes I open it at random and read excerpts to my husband and Russian-speaking guests. It’s the most hilarious entertainment!

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Joëlle says:

        😄 I have one « oldie » at home too; it’s about how to write letters (you know, once upon a time people actually did that!), and my favorite chapter is on how to tell your fiancé’s parents that you are breaking up with him and returning the family heirloom engagement ring that he gave you…

        Liked by 1 person

      4. This sounds so funny today – can you imagine a modern girl actually doing that?
        Happy New Year to you and yours, dear Joelle!

        Liked by 1 person

      5. Joëlle says:

        Thank you, Dolly, and a happy new year to you and your family also!

        Liked by 1 person

  23. kelleysdiy says:

    Your granddaughter Alisia is beautiful and so talented, like her grandmother😍❤️️🐱

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much, darling!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment