It’s Good to Be the King and Love Salads!

King George I of England loved salads. He was not the only one; at the end of 17th – beginning of 18th century, Grand Sallads were “trending” among all Royal Houses of Europe. You might even say, they “went viral.”

You know I couldn’t help but give you a taste of Mel Brooks’ genius!

But seriously, Beautiful People, the University of Reading is offering a FREE five-week online course

A History of Royal Food and Feasting

I am enjoying it tremendously, and many of you will too, I am sure, so go get it at https://www.futurelearn.com/courses/royal-food/

As I am in the middle of the third week of this exciting learning adventure, we are discussing the Royal Kitchen Garden at Hampton Court and the Baroque ideas of what a salad should be. Imagine my surprise when I realized that one of my favorite go-to salads is a simplified idea of a Grand Sallad, or Sallet, as they were called then.

http://foodhistorjottings.blogspot.co.uk/search?q=grand+sallet

Look at some examples offered by this phenomenal blog and compare with my simple

Assembly Required Salad ,then make your own and feel like a Royal! It’s good to be the king – or the queen!

23 Comments Add yours

    1. Thank you so much for reblogging, Henrietta!

      Like

    1. Thank you for reblogging.

      Like

  1. Gary says:

    Very interesting. Nevet knew any of yhos. Thanks for sharing.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for your comment, Gary!

      Like

  2. Joëlle says:

    Dolly, as soon as you said “history” “food” and “England” my mind went straight to Hampton Court before you even mentioned it! Have you ever visited it? The audio guide tells you how they used to let their raw meat “mature” (I guess the word “rot” had not been invented yet 😄) for weeks on end! I’d much rather go for a “ sallet” then 😉

    Ok, having used up my entire quota of quotation marks for today, I will stop here. Thank you for everything, the video, the link (always a pleasure to learn more things) and the recipe ideas!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I have never been to England because the one week during the year when British weather is tolerable for me never coincided with my vacation. However, I am aware of their technique of “hanging” game without gutting it; supposedly that imbued it with “gamy” flavor, as well as tenderness. If I continue with this, I’ll lose my appetite for a week!
      I am already on Week 4 of the course (a bit ahead of schedule), and enjoying it tremendously. It’s so well done, and right up my alley – food and history.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Joëlle says:

        I was brave enough to take my students on school trips to England on several occasions, in spite of the weather 😄! And this is how I visited Hampton Court… The kids were appalled at the fate of Henry VIII’s wives. Here is the fun song I used in class to teach them about them:

        I think you might enjoy it, Dolly!
        Have a good day 😊

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Hilarious! Thank you, dear Joelle, for this little touch of fun before I go to work! Have a wonderful day!

        Liked by 1 person

  3. samanthamurdochblog says:

    Love your history/recipe posts! Thank you 😺💕xx

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, dear Samantha! 😻

      Like

    1. Thank you for reblogging.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Thank you very much for the information on the course,and you wonderul presentation. Have a good week. Michael

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much,Michael, for your kind comment! The course is phenomenal, and so well done! You too,have a great week.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Thank you very much. Yes, i will try to take the course. Michael

        Liked by 1 person

      2. If you are interested in this kind of thing, and I think you are, you’ll definitely enjoy it!

        Like

  5. Great inspiration here to make and eat.. Yuum!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you; I wish more people were inspired by salads!

      Like

      1. There are lots of salad people emerging. You just keep inspiring! (-:

        Liked by 1 person

      2. You are right, dear friend! 😻

        Like

Leave a comment