Plump Banana Pancakes

What can you do with a bunch of random words? And what can you you do with a pair of rotten bananas? I can turn these bananas into delicious plump pancakes. A true poet, like Ann of https://whiteawjwords.com can turn random words into a beautiful poem. Ann strolled around, gathered some words and wrote a poem. She asked her readers for words. I walked on Ocean Drive and send her the words that came to my mind: ocean, music, guitars, sailboats, excitement, dancing, bright colors, hot sun, young people, palm trees. This is what she did with them:
Palm trees leaning together,
Strung by banana spiders,
In tandem with steel bands, and
Reggae guitars playing steamy
Melodies. Bright excitement
From lovers, old and wise, and
Young people watching the performance.
Finding joy in the hot sun and cool waves
They thrive, sail the waves on boards.
Cheering the fleets of sailboats owned
By the many fish people,
Native to the island,
Who love the waves that dance.
In dancing, they bring the music of
The ocean, with its pounding percussion,
To the tender melodies of jungle
To those who lean together at moonrise,
As coconuts gather straws to serve
The drinks of the Caribbean to all.
I think this is just fantastic, so to keep with the spirit of Ann’s poem, I am repeating this post to show what I did with a pair of rotten bananas.

koolkosherkitchen

Pancakes? Latkes is what they are, and in my grandmother’s kitchen, latkes were made out of anything, fruit or vegetables, or fruit and vegetables combined, as long as there was prostokvasha – clabbered milk (please see my post Prostokvasha – Non-dairy Clabbered Milk).  I was planning to discuss it big time around Chanukkah, the holiday which, for most kids, becomes a “Latke Yom Tov.”  However, thanks to a few of you, beautiful people,  I was somewhat rushed into it several months earlier. I don’t regret it; on the contrary, I thank you, my fellow bloggers, for giving me an opportunity to do a preview.

Cute, right? But it’s like they give street directions in Boston: you’ll see McDonald on your left but you don’t need to go there, you have to turn right. So we won’t go there  – at least until actual Chanukkah time – and we…

View original post 684 more words

20 Comments Add yours

  1. Your posts are as always great…
    Love them all…!!

    Like

    1. Oh, thank you, Melinda, that was unexpected, and I am honored!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. But seriously, you’d expect “writing” blogs, not food blogs, to be tagged for quotes. I’ll do it, though – for you, anything!

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Oops! Sorry! I won’t do it again. Thank you!

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Girl, this is a free country (still!), and you can do whatever you like doing! And as I said, I have never turned down a challenge, so it was surprising, but it’s fun! Thank you!

        Liked by 1 person

      4. YAY!! Good! I’ll be watching to see what you say!

        Liked by 1 person

      5. Did the first one last night https://koolkosherkitchen.wordpress.com/2016/11/03/sesame-chicken-bites-and-quote-1/ Working on the second right now – stay tuned!

        Liked by 1 person

      6. YAY!! Off I go to read!!

        Liked by 1 person

      7. Holding my breath…

        Liked by 1 person

      8. Then I am happy! 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Lady G says:

    Oh I bet these are delicious!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much, I am glad you like the recipe!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Lady G says:

        I do!! And I will try them 🙂
        Although my blog is mostly about random stories and such, I do like to share pictures of meals that I have prepared.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. That’s great, and I love your blog!

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Lady G says:

        I love yours too my friend 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

