26 Comments Add yours

  1. As I wrote on the post: This looks really nice! I am interested in how to budget the time for your Shabbat preparations, since I think I need some help in that area.🌹🍎⌛️

    Liked by 3 people

    1. I do my grocery shopping on Sunday, and start doing prep on Monday, and do a little bit every day. I bake my Challahs about once a month, usually on Wednesday, and freeze them. By Thursday, I usually have all the prep done, so what’s left is to stick chicken into Instant Pot and let it do its own thing, do something with fish, mix salads, and bake dessert. My housekeeper comes on Friday morning, so by Thursday night, everything must be done. Sometimes, when I have a busy week (especially before I retired), I stay up till 2 – 3 AM, but it’s ok, because I can rest on Shabbos.
      I know how tough it is for you, Carol, but the idea is to plan your Shabbos menu and figure out what could be done, or at least prepped ahead of time. Have a wonderful Shabbos!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I end up cooking Thursday and Friday mornings before I go to work. But, I am spending more than 90 minutes each morning and I am trying to come up with an easier plan. Maybe I should work backwards and figure out how much I can make in 90 minutes??

        Liked by 2 people

      2. That might help, but I am a big believer in prep, i.e. doing a little bit every day.

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Me too! Perhaps it’s a question of working smarter not harder? I am trying to come up with a more efficient plan.

        Liked by 2 people

      4. I believe it is, and it’s all in smart planning.

        Liked by 1 person

      5. I am trying to figure out a better plan.

        Liked by 2 people

      6. If I may suggest, take a look at your standard menu and figure out what you can do in advance and freeze or refrigerate. Once you do that, consolidate procedures, i.e. have a chopping day, a cutting day, a baking day, etc. For instance, Tuesday is my slicing, grating, and chopping day. I lay out all veggies that need to be processed, wash them, and lay them out in order of doing them. Then some get pickled or cooked right away, some get frozen, and some refrigerated, to be made into salads on Thursday night.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. I love that! Shabbat shalom!!

    Liked by 4 people

    1. Thank you so much, dear Jen, and the credit goes to Dena! Shabbat Shalom!

      Liked by 2 people

    2. Thank you so much! I’m so glad that you like my recipe!

      Liked by 3 people

      1. You’re very welcome!

        Like

  3. Hi Dolly,
    Thank you so much for re-blogging my recipe! It means so much to see this on your awesome blog! Shabbat Shalom!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thank you for an awesome compliment, dear Dena! Shabbat Shalom!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. A feast for the eye as well as the palate!

    Liked by 3 people

    1. Thank you, dear Mimi, and the credit belongs to lovely Dena.

      Liked by 1 person

    2. Thank you so much for the compliment! Feel free to check out my blog for more healthy recipes https://theartsypalate.wordpress.com

      Liked by 2 people

      1. My pleasure, and since I am now following your blog, I am looking forward to more interesting and healthy goodies. Shavuah Tov, darling!

        Liked by 1 person

  5. spearfruit says:

    Love the culinary creativity Dolly.

    Liked by 3 people

    1. Thank you so much, Gary, and the credit goes to lovely Dena.

      Like

  6. spearfruit says:

    Thanks for sharing. Loved the idea and the background info was interesting.

    Liked by 3 people

    1. Thank you so much!

      Like

Leave a comment