42 Comments Add yours

  1. renxkyoko says:

    Wow. That’s a great tip ! Is it good only for doughs, though ?

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thank you for your lovely comment!
      If you look through my recipes, most of them are “cooked with wine and baked with rum,” so it’s good for anything cooked because, as Tamara explains, alcohol cooks out but flavor is greatly enhanced and moisture is preserved.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. renxkyoko says:

        Thanks ! The only cake that I bake with rum is fruit cake ( then I preserve it in the fridge and brush it with more rum at least 2x a week….. I guess that’s the reason )

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Sounds very Cheer-ful! 😸

        Like

  2. Very interesting! Thank you!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thank you for your comment!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Wow, so interesting! 🙂 Definitely worth trying it! 🙂

    Liked by 3 people

    1. Thank you for your comment – cheers! 😸

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Cheers! 😍💞 Happy cooking!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Same to you, darling! 😻🍷🍹

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Hello darling! ☺️ Hopefully, you are doing well… I would like to let you know that I have nominated you for the Mystery Blogger Award ☺️ Feel free to have a look https://withcoloursandcanitointhekitchen.blog/2017/08/17/mystery-blogger-award/

        Liked by 2 people

      2. Thank you so much for this unexpected honor – I am overwhelmed!

        Liked by 1 person

      3. ❤️💞 Your blog is inspiring!

        Liked by 1 person

      4. Thank you – you made my day! 💜

        Liked by 1 person

      5. I am so happy to hear that! ❤️

        Liked by 1 person

  5. GREAT tip! I can’t wait to try this with GF substitutes – many tend to be a bit on the “tough or chewy” side to begin with. I’ll bet Frangelico would be absolutely marvelous in brownies and crusts for chocolate pies!
    xx,
    mgh

    Liked by 3 people

    1. I can’t guarantee crusts, as liqueurs are very sweet and that might weight the crust down, but in Black Sambucca made brownies so creamy – out of this world! – that Frangelico will definitely work.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Thanks for the feedback. I’m not really big on most pies anyway – even less so now that I must avoid gluten. But a yummie brownie recipe is RIGHT up my alley!
        xx,
        mgh

        Liked by 1 person

      2. You and my husband will get along great! BTW, while he buys Black Sambucca for me, I get Frangelico for him – coincidence?

        Liked by 1 person

      3. There are no accidents, or so they say.

        btw- just made some GF brownies – in the kitchen cooling. I will top them with coffee/rum buttercream, since the GF recipe I used called for an egg as the only liquid in the brownies themselves (and rum was all I had on hand, since I rarely drink at home and don’t drink rum, except for a splash in my evening coffee once in a while) I used brown sugar in the brownies.

        ALL your fault if I eat the whole 8 x 8 pan by tomorrow and blow up like a blimp, you know. 🙂
        xx,
        mgh

        Liked by 1 person

      4. Enjoy yourself and don’t worry about calories and things! Life is there to be enjoyed, and for that purpose G-d gave us chocolate!

        Liked by 1 person

      5. Okay then – I’ll go get some vanilla ice cream tomorrow and see if I can do something about those dry brownies. 🙂
        xx,
        mgh

        Liked by 1 person

      6. If nothing else works, refer to my https://koolkosherkitchen.wordpress.com/2017/03/27/let-them-eat-potatoes/ or https://koolkosherkitchen.wordpress.com/2016/12/21/cake-pops-cake-in-10-minutes/.
        Both require some alcohol which makes them moist and brings out the rich chocolate flavor.

        Liked by 1 person

      7. Thank you, Dolly. I’ll click right over.
        xx,
        mgh

        Liked by 1 person

  6. Elizabeth says:

    What a great tip! Thank you!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thank you – cheers! 😻

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Christy B says:

    That IS a good tip!

    Liked by 2 people

  8. in says:

    I too shall take this tip. Thanks!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You’re most welcome – cheers!

      Like

  9. That’s so interesting, I had no idea 👍☺

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes, I’ve always used alcohol in cooking and baking but also didn’t know how it worked.

      Liked by 1 person

  10. Thanks for the tip!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. My pleasure – cheers!

      Like

  11. Awesome tip! Thanks for sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

  12. arsenios says:

    Thanks for the tip! It is – cheers!

    Like

  13. Yep, great tip and sounds logical

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sure does! Thank you for your comment – cheers!

      Like

Leave a comment