Rudyard Kipling’s Dream: East Meets West

“East is East, and West is West, and never the twain shall meet,” predicted Rudyard Kipling, and boy! was he ever wrong!

Meet an amazing blogger, brilliant Kathy Man, who thumbs her lovely nose at him. Enjoy her lively and entertaining article, Beautiful People!

Imogene Lim wrote . . . . . . “Gonna get a big dish of beef chow mein,” Warren Zevon sings in his 1978 hit “Werewolves of London,” a nod to the popular Chinese stir-fried noodle dish. During that same decade, Alika and the Happy Samoans, the house band for a Chinese restaurant in Fall […]

via Chow Mein Sandwich – East meets West in Fall River, Massachusetts — Cooking with Kathy Man

22 Comments Add yours

  1. A_Boleyn says:

    I haven’t eaten in a Chinese restaurant in ages but I remember chow mein fondly. I should really make some one of these days.

    Enjoy the Warren Zevon song … have you heard “Lawyers, Guns and Money”?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Of course! I came to the US in 1978 and jumped into everything that had been forbidden in the old country.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Wow fantastic and these chinese dishes are awesome. Great post.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for your lovely comment, dear Kamal! Have a wonderful day!

      Like

      1. Welcome dear and you too have a great day

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Joëlle says:

    I will say it once again, Dolly: what a small world this is! Fall River, Massachusetts is where my husband’s grandparents were married back in the early twentieth century! This recipe is absolutely inspiring me to try making Chow Mein in my Franco-Lusitano-American, with the occasional Japanese touch, kitchen! Thank you, I will share the story with my husband as soon as he comes down for his coffee 😊

    Liked by 1 person

    1. The world is but a village, as long as it is full of love and laughter! How delightful!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. A few minutes down the road in Salem they have the equally infamous “chop suey” sandwich. It has similar origins to Fall River’s chow mein sandwich. I’ve never been tempted to try either. I know people who love them and go to Salem Willow’s every year to get one. A home made version sounds much more appealing to me.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I am with you on that. I prefer “clean food” where I can discern the ingredients on my plate, even blended. That’s why I am so in love with Japanese food. My attempts at Chinese cuisine are limited to non-messy, i.e. well-defined dishes, but Cathy’s post is such a delightful story that I just had to share it.
      Thank you for your kind comment! I hear it’s getting colder up there – winterizing boats, aren’t you?

      Liked by 1 person

      1. It got cold quick, right from summer to winter. We got a couple of boats wrapped up, another one ready to be chopped up, and high school kids building a banks dory.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I know; my son reported last night that he’s already done his boat. What’s a banks dory?

        Liked by 1 person

      3. A traditional rowboat used on the old Gloucester fishing schooners. This one will be used aboard the historic schooner Adventure over in Gloucester.

        Liked by 1 person

      4. Thank you for explanation; this is fascinating. When I was there, a month ago, the weather was nice enough for my son to take me out, and we came across Fame in full sail! I took some pics, too, but haven’t had a chance to work them into a post yet.

        Liked by 1 person

      5. Looking forward to seeing the Fame pics. Capt. Mike is a good guy that runs a beautiful vessel.

        Liked by 1 person

      6. So I’ve heard, and the schooner is gorgeous. Can’t say the same about my pics, though, taken by a phone from a rocking motorboat! But we’ll see…

        Liked by 1 person

  5. Clare says:

    But of course Rudyard, they were never apart in the first place; only the mind makes it so.
    It’s always nice stopping by your blog a.k.a “online restaurant”, at least my eyes gets to taste a bit of world cuisines.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Most certainly! Thank you so much for your lovely comment, dear Clare; I wish I could send you something delicious by e-mail! 😻

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Clare says:

        Ha-ha-ha. Your welcomed. That’s thoughtful of you. Anyways, its the intention that matters. Thank you.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. My pleasure, darling!

        Liked by 1 person

  6. So delicious looking… makes a werewolf howl! LOL!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

