Assembly Required Salad

koolkosherkitchen

When you want to impress your guests but don’t have much time, you open your refrigerator, grab all the vegetables you find there that could be consumed uncooked, and arrange them on a pretty platter to make an arresting picture. You place the dressing on the table right next to it, and after the appropriate “Ooohs!” and “Aaahs!”, dress and mix a very healthy salad right in front of your company.  The basic rule of thumb is a contrast of colors and textures.

Asbly Req 1.jpg

I believe that young beets don’t need to be peeled, as the tender skin is chock-full of vitamins. They do need to be scrubbed well under running water. Even though they could be incorporated into this salad completely raw, sometimes people with a sensitive digestion system might react to this much roughage, so I just pierce them a few times, wrap them in a paper towel, and…

View original post 512 more words

14 Comments Add yours

  1. Aditi says:

    What are those leaves that you’ve used for garnishing? I live in India and I have never seen those in the grocery store when I go shopping…

    BTW, that looks very nice! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much, dear Aditi! I use dill sprigs for garnishing, and I usually buy the best and the freshest dill in an Indian supermarket – is that funny?

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Aditi says:

        Wow, okay, that is funny! Where do you get them from?

        Liked by 1 person

      2. We have a terrific Indian store with all kinds of spices and a great fresh produce department. That’s where I get tindora, muli, chana dal, and fresh dill and cilantro too.

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Aditi says:

        Oh, cool! So, you’re American but you like Indian stuff?

        Liked by 1 person

      4. Yes, dear, I am originally from Europe, but I’ve been American now for many years, and I love Indian food. I am constantly learning and trying new Indian recipes.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. in says:

    What a great mix! Thanks for adding the cheese. :oD

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, sweetheart, but there is no cheese, unfortunately, because I can’t have it any more; however, it’ll be a great addition to the salad, so feel free to add it!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Very colourful and appetizing!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, dear Anuradha, I am so glad you like it!

      Like

      1. My pleasure, Dolly.

        Liked by 1 person

  4. I like your writing, presentation o f your dish make me hungery.I don’t know, how to give you nominating award,but I nominate you for best food for funny and healthy ife award.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much, dear! I don”t know if there is such an award, but I am honored by your lovely nomination!

      Like

Leave a Reply

