Dairy Free Shlishkes

Here is a non-dairy and possibly vegan version of the traditional Shlishkes recipe.

koolkosherkitchen

Eureka! Following a short experimentation stage, I came up with a recipe for Dairy Free Shlishkes. A while ago, I posted a traditional Cheese Shlishkes recipe – please click here.  I received quite a few positive comments, but I couldn’t stop thinking about lots of people (like myself,for instance!) who would love to try this dainty, delicious versatile breakfast-lunch-dinner-snack-whatever-you-want-it-to-be simple dish, but have to abstain from the main ingredient – cheese.

DF shlish 1.jpg

So I did it! I used a pareve non-dairy cream cheese substitute.  Since I was already experimenting, I experimented with flour as well, and discovered that cream cheese substitute takes twice as much whole wheat flour as the standard farmer cheese.  I used light brown sugar and Smart Balance, and an egg. If you use an egg substitute, this recipe becomes vegan, and if it comes out well, please let me know!

DF shlish 2.jpg

These are made exactly the way…

View original post 122 more words

9 Comments Add yours

  1. [ Smiles ] I am all for anything vegan!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I would like to let you know that I have nominated you for the “Blue Sky Tag” See link: click here Hope you will be able to participate and pay this forward. Congratulations my blogger friend for being nominated and check out their wonderful blogs.

    Like

    1. Thank you so much for nominating me – I am honored!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. M E Cheshier says:

    This sounds wonderful!

    Like

    1. Thank you so much – I am so glad you like it!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. M E Cheshier says:

        You are very welcome! 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

