Cheese and Raisins Pie

To continue with our traditional Shavuos recipes, even though this is technically a dessert, you will see it on the table among the appetizers.

koolkosherkitchen

I am sure this was more of an afterthought. It was like, hey, we are already making traditional green spicy pies, why not bake something sweet for kids to enjoy! I remember my father, the quintessential kid,  sneaking into my grandmother’s kitchen to snack on the sweet filling while the dough was being rolled and stretched paper thin. Far from admonishing him, she would purposely leave some in the bowl for him to finish, after the pie was rolled. Sure, you can just throw some raisins into farmer cheese, add sugar and vanilla, and get the same thing – almost! They even package it like that, with a hechsher. But then it would be no fun, would it?

Cheese and raisins 1.jpg

We don’t use sugar, though. Strangely enough, my grandmother, born and raised in the traditions of a kleine shteitl, within the Eastern European Pale of Settlement, made quite a few…

View original post 503 more words

12 Comments Add yours

  1. Dolly,
    This looks like my grandmas, delicious!
    This brings back memories from my childhood.
    I should try and make it myself, I’m sure Jerome would love it.
    Vanessa

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Dear Vanessa, I am so glad to have brought back your happy memories! This is so easy to make – enjoy!

      Like

  2. Christy B says:

    I hadn’t heard of this combination before! Thank you 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

    1. My pleasure, dear Christie! It is a delicious, time and kids’ proven combination!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Christy B says:

        Ohhh and they do say kids are the best critics as they are honest when they like/don’t like food!

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Oh yes, thank you dear Christy! And my father was such a big kid at heart, till his last day!

        Like

  3. in567 says:

    Had to stop by, that looks delicious. The little kitty is so cute too.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much, dear, I am so glad you like it! And I love the “Garfield’s nightmare” comics on your blog – I totally agree with him.

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much, dear!

      Like

  4. Megala says:

    Delicious pie!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, dear Megala! I am so glad you like it!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

