Sweet and Healthy Pull-apart Challah

We are a week away from the holiday of Shavuos. I am repeating my entire Shavuos menu, one recipe at the time, starting, of course, with Challah.

koolkosherkitchen

I don’t know why we have pull-apart challahs on Shavuos. There are tons of different recipes, but no explanation. There are also different creative shapes, such as ladder shape challah, Torah study challah, Mount Sinai challah, but the prevalent tradition is still a pull-apart. I can understand two oblong challahs, to represent the Tablets of the Law, but a round challah that pulls apart into a bunch of separate rolls? Granted, kids love it, and Shavuos is a kids’ holiday, but it doesn’t sound like the real reason. My husband suggested that maybe six rolls that comprise the perimeter of each challah represent six Shfotim (Tribes) each, to the total of twelve, and the two center rolls are the Tablets, to symbolize the unity of the 12 Tribes of Israel around the Law. Now this seemed like a viable rationale, until I started counting the rolls in…

View original post 985 more words

14 Comments Add yours

  1. Thank you very much. Its so wonderful to learn much more about Jewish life, culture and all the famous recipes. Thx 😉 Michael

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much, Michael, you are so kind!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Looks so good 😊

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much, Shadee, I am really glad you like it!

      Like

  3. This looks delicious!! I am going to try to make this 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much! I am so glad you like it – please let me know how it turns out.

      Like

  4. Sumith says:

    Great to learn new food stuffs. Challh is new to me. Thanks for this beautiful share Dolly.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, dear Sumith, your kind comment means a lot to me!

      Like

  5. Joëlle says:

    Less gluten invariably results in less rising, so I am still struggling with my gluten-free doughs, Dolly! But recently I started getting better results using teff. Your recipe sounds somewhat similar to “brioche” and I sure hope I can make a gluten-free version of your challah, it sounds really good (with a cup of coffee, aah…) A treat for kids, you say? Count me in!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It is quite similar to brioche, yes. We are all kids at heart, aren’t we!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

