Crusty Heirloom Chair

Another adorable contribution to the party from dear Linda of kelleysdiy. She is asking, “How long do you think the kitties would take to make it their cozy spot!” About two minutes spent in fighting as to who gets it first! Thank you, Linda, for joining the party with these great posts!

kelleysdiy

I’m sorry I couldn’t post this yesterday as promised. There was a glitch in the system on the site I needed to post the entry. This chair used to be part of a dining set that we had when my boys were small. As you can see, the black paint is almost gone, and it’s in pretty bad shape.

dscn4305-2

I started by sanding the chair with 120 -220 grit sandpaper. I used my Ryobi Mouse…love that little guy! It’s like the energizer bunny…just keeps going. I was able to sand down the small cracks, but the larger cracks were still there. I would have used wood filler, but I was worried the color wouldn’t be the same in those areas after I stained. Also the chair was made of different woods.(something I couldn’t tell when painted). At this point, I must say, I was a little discouraged.

dscn4362

I started by using the…

View original post 485 more words

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Garfield Hug says:

    Good to give life to usable items. Saving Gaia plus I tend to believe that old furniture are made of better wood quality. Beautiful remake!!☺

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, and I share your belief. All the credit belongs to my incredibly creative friend Linda!

      Like

  2. rhythminlife says:

    I love stories behind certain pieces. Well I love stories behind heirlooms 💞😁

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I do too – thank you for your comment!

      Like

Leave a Reply

