Apple Charlotte

This is the time of the year when we are getting ready for Passover by frantically searching for ways to use up leftover bread. Fortunately, I don’t have that much, but I was asked by some Beautiful People for a bread pudding recipe, so for lack of bread to make a new one, I am repeating one of the very few chocolate-less recipes I have. Enjoy!

koolkosherkitchen

Napoleon invaded Russia and lost. Embarrassed and frustrated, he declared that it wasn’t the Russian generals who had defeated the hitherto victorious French army, but General Frost – the harsh Russian winter.

550567_orig

Some of the non-military, auxiliary French personnel decided not to risk frostbites or even death, and to remain in Russia. A barber is a barber, they figured, and a French chef is always a French chef, and a whiff of civilization will only benefit the Russian bear. The bear proved quite appreciative, and a French chef Marie-Antoine Carême got a coveted position at the emperor’s court – the Russian emperor’s, Tzar Alexander I The Blessed.

148802-004-7715ccd1

The Tzar ordered his new chef to create a dessert that would be definitively and recognizably not French. The chef encountered a problem: there was no flour left in the royal pantry.  “Don’t be silly, – advised his sous chef, also French, – make…

View original post 1,092 more words

18 Comments Add yours

  1. CarMac says:

    Good history.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Looks soooooooooooooooooo goooooooooood!!! 👍🏼👍🏼👍🏼

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much dear, I am glad you like it! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Good story and delicious recipe, Dolly 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, dear Irene!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Great! Thank you also for the historic lesson. Have a nice week!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much, you too!

      Like

  5. sweets67 says:

    This looks really delicious. I remember as a child, my mom trying to use up or get rid of all the bread before Passover.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes, a lot of work! Thank you so much for your kind comment – I am glad you like the recipe!

      Liked by 1 person

  6. lilyandardbeg says:

    My husband’s favourite (well, one of his favourites).
    Which reminds me that I was going to inform you that when I bake challah (which the said husband devours in seconds) I now tell him it’s ‘Dolly’s bread’ (for years he had been calling challah many things, so I thought we just need to change the name as he will never learn). My (insignificant but still…) tribute to you 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I am deeply honored! At last, something is named after me – wow!

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Lovely write up dear Dolly.
    I have something for you. I have nominated you for the mystery blogger award and here is the link
    https://neetuskitchen.wordpress.com/2017/03/28/mystery-blogger-award/?preview=true
    Go through the same and congratulations 🙂
    Regards,
    Neetu

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much, dear Neetu, I am honored!

      Like

  8. Hello!! 🙂 Your blog is interesting and the recipes are great! 🙂 I love it 🙂 That’s why I tagged your blog in “2016/2017 tag” >> https://lithuanianintheusa.com/2017/03/29/2016-2017-tag/ . Hope you will accept and participate in it. 😉 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much, dear Lucy, for your kind words and for the tag – I am honored! I love your blog and your recipes as well, and especially the fact that you are doing it in two languages – very impressive!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

