Eggplant Napoleon

Dear Beautiful People, I’ve been asked whether I had any interesting eggplant recipes, so I thought this was interesting enough to be repeated.

koolkosherkitchen

It seems that anything baked in thin layers interspersed with something creamy is nowadays labeled Napoleon. I’ve met – and duplicated! – beet napoleon, zucchini napoleon, even pumpkin napoleon (didn’t like the latter, though). Contrary to a popular belief, the name does not honor the French Emperor. Or maybe it does, after all, in a roundabout way? Let’s see.

Name version #1. Known as mille-feuilles (a thousand leaves), it was developed in France in the second half of 19th century. Napoleon Bonaparte was already dead on St Helene, the Restoration was striving to erase both his name and his deeds, and generally, the entire Europe was sick of wars and heroic battles. There is no chance that this delicious dessert would have been named after “the little corporal” and his meteoric rise to power at the expense of thousands of deaths. A thousand leaves sounded a thousand times better!

View original post 1,039 more words

22 Comments Add yours

  1. Great and so yummy and delicious and so well written on Napolean.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much, dear! Have a blessed day!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. You think the fact that Napolean had become ample in girth would have anything to do with it? That anything with cream has his stamp on it bit. As for eggplant, I am a fan. So I shall try this out on a weekend. Cheers.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. What an idea – I love it! Good luck with eggplant – it’s really easy! – and please let me know how you like it. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I shall when I bake it 🙂 Ha ha, Napolean would not have jumped at the idea as much xx

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Timelesslady says:

    I marked this as a favorite to try later in the summer when I have some eggplant fresh out of the garden. Sounds delicious.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much – I am glad you like it, and even more glad that you are taking a seasonal approach to vegetables.

      Like

  4. Oh how I love eggplant……no one else in my family does so I do t make it, but Eggplant Rollitini in front of me, would surely make me cry!!

    Great post!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh I am so sorry that your family does not enjoy eggplant – it is so good! Thank you for your kind words, dear Susan!

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Oh trust me I know! I’m 100% Sicilian and grew up in New Jersey……we grew up on eggplant!! Haha
    I love your blog and I’m so excited to read your older posts!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You are Sicilian? So you know how to make La Timbale de Macaroni, the real one encased in eggplant?

      Like

      1. I do not know how to make it but I remember going to my Nanna’s house on Sundays and having pasta with eggplant, maybe it was wrapped with the eggplant?? I can’t remember too many details because it was over 45 years ago……Hahaha the memory isn’t what it used to be!!

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Come on, we are about the same age; you are probably younger!

        Like

      3. 54…..with teenagers!! I have no brain cells left! Haha

        Liked by 1 person

      4. Ah, I am quite a bit older, with teenage grandkids. I remember this condition very well when my sons were teenagers – you never know what to expect.

        Like

  6. Joëlle says:

    Thank you for introducing me to this Georgian recipe through my old friend Napoleon (😉). I’ll try it as soon as eggplant is in season again, remembering to get the smaller kind.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You can make it with larger eggplant too, but not the really huge one. Thank you for the comment!

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Shreya says:

    Well written and delicious

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, dear Shreya!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

