How to eat healthy…Seasonal Food & Finding Farmers’ Markets

You might have noticed that here and there in my posts lurks the adjective “seasonal,” as in “seasonal fruit and vegetables.” Granted, here in South Florida, produce is seasonal several times a year, but for the rest of the world, what does it mean and how important is it? A great blogger Tamara Hoerner offers a detailed explanation. Her blog is a terrific resource for those of you, Beautiful People, who, like myself, are concerned with what we put on our tables and in our mouths.

The Purple Almond

Why eat local? Locally grown produce will be in season and picked at peak ripeness. Why is this important?

  1. Taste– Produce tastes best when it is allowed to ripen on the plant. The taste, texture, and crispness will be optimal.
  2. Nutrients– Produce loses 30% of its nutrients within 3 days of harvest. Research done at the University of California indicates that veggies can lose anywhere from 15 to 55 percent of vitamin C within a week. Spinach can lose up to 90% within the first 24 hours. Produce that is shipped is not allowed to ripen and does not develop full nutrient values. What nutrients it does have are mainly lost during shipping.
  3. Support local economy and community-Instead of going through a middle man, you’ll buy directly from the local farmer who grew the produce or meat. You can ask questions: What fertilizer is used? Did you use any…

View original post 425 more words

34 Comments Add yours

  1. My philosophy completely.

    Liked by 3 people

    1. Thank you for supporting Tamara, and myself, and many more health-conscious people!

      Like

  2. Oooou! Thanks for this post, i just heard about eating seasonal food. That it’s healthier and cheaper. Been looking for a post like this.

    Liked by 3 people

    1. We all have to thank Tamara; she is a terrific source of information about health and nutrition. I am glad it’s helpful to you, dear!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. The Purple Almond??? You know I gotta go check her out! Thanks!

    Liked by 4 people

    1. Of course you gotta! I didn’t know you didn’t know!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Great – I am glad! Great bloggers have to know each other, and purple bloggers even more so!
        P.S. I am coming out of mourning at the end of April, and you’ll see my purple nails in the pictures.

        Liked by 2 people

      2. I’m glad for you, Dolly. I can’t wait!

        Liked by 1 person

    2. Also, you gotta check out the purple bunny right here: https://theguywhosaidalwaysno.com/2017/02/02/bunnies-from-towels-come-creare-dei-coniglietti-con-delle-asciugamani
      This is something to make with the little ones!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I will go see right now!

        Liked by 1 person

  4. So why eat veggies if they lose their nutrients before you can eat them?? Just kidding!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Because we like the way they look? Oh, let’s not even ask, just enjoy our food!

      Like

  5. voulaah says:

    Eat healthy is very important, tahnk you so much dear for nice sharing
    kisses

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for your sweet comment! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. voulaah says:

        you are very welcome
        Kisses

        Liked by 1 person

  6. feistyfroggy says:

    Thanks for sharing this great info!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You are very welcome, but the credit goes to Tamara whose blog is chock-full of helpful health-related information.

      Liked by 1 person

  7. 1weaver says:

    this is a subject near and dear to my heart…isnt it funny how logical it is and yet we dont think about it in our busy lives. here, too, we are blessed with a great variety of fresh produce, though not several times a year; thus you have to get really creative when a deluge of some crop becomes an insistent kind of staple for a few weeks. but that’s ok – blogs like yours are very helpful for that!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much for your kind words – they mean a lot to me! Where I grew up, seasonal produce was only available during the season, so I guess the concept is natural to me. I remember spending every summer climbing fruit trees in our garden with my cousins, competing who brings down more cherries, plums, apples – whatever was in season. Then our mothers and grandmothers cooked, baked, and preserved all kind of delicious things to last through winter.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. 1weaver says:

        how idylic that sounds! you were part of a fortunate (and healthy) group of kids.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Yes, very much so! Thank you for understanding.

        Like

  8. randyjw says:

    New food blog with good recipes and few followers is in need of some wordpress lovin’: loveandumami.com (Tim and Mairead)
    Hope everybody can help! Thanks for the love! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  9. reocochran says:

    I enjoy the seasons when our town has a farmer’s market. The freshest fruits and vegetables change from spring to summer, summer to fall. I am thankful for you promoting fresh, but do recommend frozen if fresh are not close or in season. 🙂 Robin

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You are absolutely right, and I do. In fact, in several of my posts, I actually show photos of frozen vegetables and make a point of discussing their nutritional value as opposed to canned options. Thank you, Robin, for a great point!

      Like

  10. Thank you so much, dear Jeyran! I am sorry, I have just found your comment. I am deeply honored!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Just did, thank you, and wrote a comment there. Very helpful advice to those who are not familiar with farmer markets.

      Like

  11. This is so important! We live in Alpharetta Georgia and fortunately have a farmers market near by. I don’t know what to suggest to my mom who lives in Moscow and goes to all those supermarkets to buy “fresh” fruit and veggies…

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’ve been to Alpharetta; it’s a beautiful little place in a beautiful state, not as hot as Florida, but nice and warm. I don’t know what to tell you about Moscow – last time I was there 40 years ago, before all the supermarkets… I am sure they have farm markets, though, just like they had in the old times, don’t they?

      Like

Leave a Reply

