Spring Rolls in Summer

One of our guests this Shabbos was vegetarian, so I made a batch of spring rolls and hoisin sauce to go with them. They were an instant hit with everyone, not only our vegetarian friend! Here is the recipe.

koolkosherkitchen

It’s summer, and I am making spring rolls. On the other hand, it’s always summer in South Florida, so what’s the difference?  On the third hand, first spring vegetables wrapped in thin pastry dough and fried were traditionally served in China on the first day of the Spring Festival, hence the name. On the fourth hand, I don’t want to wrap vegetables in pastry dough and fry them, I want to find a healthier option, like rice paper.  On the fifth hand, rice paper spring rolls are Vietnamese and Thai, rather than Chinese. That’s it, ran out of hands. Wait, how many hands do I have?

Sprg Rls 1.jpg

Anyway, I found kosher rice paper, I have a bunch of fresh vegetables, and I am making spring rolls, baked, not fried.

Sprg Rls 2.jpg

Every spring roll I’ve ever found on my plate had the two mandatory ingredients, cabbage and carrots. After that, it’s free for…

View original post 847 more words

29 Comments Add yours

  1. susieshy45 says:

    I love spring rolls, summer or winter and thank you for this gluten free version and baked too.
    Susie

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you dear Susie, I try to keep everything as gluten free as possible.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. leebakers says:

    this looks absolutely delicous!!!!!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Than you so much – I am glad you like it!

      Like

  3. Daal says:

    you are the best! I am vegetarian (really pescatarian) & my mouth is watering just to look at your delicious photos 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you dear Daal! I am so glad you like my recipes!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Your recipes always seem to take me back to a wonderful time in my life… This time it was 2001 – when I spent the weekend at a conference with one of our licensed partners, Kid’s House a great after-school program. These wonderful children made Spring roll appetizers for our closing ceremony. Thank you for the great recipes and memories!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh, how wonderful! I’ve never made spring rolls with kids in camp for a simple reason: no time and no facility to bake them right there on the spot. But we always made sushi, and that was always a hit!

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Balvinder says:

    Is it already summerlike in Florida?
    I am not a vegetarian but mostly follow vegetarian diet. Since this recipe is gluten free I really love it.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Dear Bal,
      thank you for your kind words. We have no seasons; it’s always summer in South Florida.

      Like

  6. I love spring rolls and am a vegetarian so really like this post. These ones look very yummy. 🙂 xx

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, I am so glad you like them! And they are so easy to make.

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Arohii says:

    I love spring rolls, reminds me of my days at college. Delicious, thanks for sharing 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. My pleasure, darling – enjoy!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Arohii says:

        🙂 Thank you!

        Liked by 1 person

  8. Anupriya says:

    Delicious….I m sure to try these!

    Like

    1. Thank you so much dear!

      Liked by 1 person

  9. Baked food are healthier than fried food ! I like this baked one ! So plz share more such vegetarian baked food !

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much! I am glad you like it, and I will post more, I promise.

      Liked by 1 person

  10. We were making out our grocery list and wondering what to have this week and our first though was to come to your site because you offer some great recipes. Looks like we’ll be trying these. Thank you for letting experience the your culinary delights.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much! You made my day!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. We believe if we were around your kitchen we would need a weekly diet, lol.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Nope! Everything is very healthy and totally diatetic! And everybody is welcome in my kitchen, any time!

        Liked by 1 person

      3. My pleasure! Enjoy and please tell me how it came out.

        Liked by 1 person

  11. I was just watching a cookery program making spring rolls! I’ll give yours a go!! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Good luck, it’s really easy! Enjoy!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

