Rassol’nik – Sour Barley Soup

Just because I am planning to make this soup tomorrow, I am repeating the post. Faultless logic, isn’t it?

koolkosherkitchen

The most sobering experience you’ve ever had, and I mean literally. Rassol means brine, the liquid that you have when you pickle something, and it is considered the best remedy for hangovers. Hangovers are historically taken very seriously in Russia. At the end of 10th century, Vladimir the Great, the Grand Prince of Kiev, a wily politician who consolidated what became known as Kievan Rus, realized that consolidated power required consolidated religion and undertook converting his pagan subjects to … oh, something monotheistic, bur what? So he sent emissaries on research and exploration missions.

Says the Chronicler Nestor:

Of the Muslim Bulgarians of the Volga the envoys reported there is no gladness among them.  Islam was undesirable due to its taboo against alcoholic beverages and pork. Vladimir remarked on the occasion: “Drinking is the joy of all Rus’. We cannot exist without that pleasure.” (Moss, Walter G. (2002), “A…

View original post 932 more words

25 Comments Add yours

  1. Congratulations on your nomination as one of the five Best Food Blogs of 2016 (NEPALIAUSTRALIAN’s Blog Award). You are a winner in my book anyway, but I took the time to pop over and vote “officially.” Good luck!
    xx,
    mgh

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much, dear Madelyn! I am speechless; I didn’t even know I was nominated!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I wondered if you did not, or if I had missed an announcement. I jumped over to vote for another blog I follow (different category), and there you were! Now that you know, go vote for your own blog!!
        xx,
        mgh

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Thank you again, but this is silly – how do you vote? There are some blogs in other categories that I want to vote for, and I can’t figure it out!

        Liked by 1 person

      3. If I understood it correctly myself, you copy the category list into a comment and – BEFORE you hit send – you put the number of the blog next to the category. (i.e., your blog is #2 in Food, so you’d put 2 next to that category).

        Fairly low tech (and high admin!) – but we’re all limited to what we can automate on the WordPress .com platform.

        My ” voting comment” disappeared as I hit send, so I’m guessing the site owner tabulates but does not approve the voting posts?? Sans approval they don’t actually post.
        xx,
        mgh

        Liked by 1 person

      4. Thank you so much! I haven’t thought it was that simple, so I assumed I wasn’t understanding something.

        Liked by 1 person

      5. lol – been there, done that!
        xx,
        mgh

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Sembra molto bello. Consegnare la vostra salute.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I’ve learned to appreciate this tasty soup from Russian friends. It’s so refreshing and tasty. No wonder you’re planning on making it again. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I surely am learning how to make different meals and thank you for sharing.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for your kind words, dear Whitney! I am glad you like my recipes.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Yes I do. They are all new to me and of course am willing to try them

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I like adventurous spirits! 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  5. Sumith says:

    Would like to try this! Thanks for the share Dolly.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That’s an honor for me, if a great chef like yourself wants to try my recipe! Please let me know how it comes out.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Sumith says:

        Haha great chef😅 Will do Dolly. Thank you.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Sumith says:

        Love you Dolly!! Keep encourage us😊 You are just amazing😍

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Oh, go make some more incredible food art!

        Liked by 1 person

      4. Sumith says:

        😊😏😄

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

