Presidential Waffles

This was sent to me by a cousin, and I felt I had to share it with you, Beautiful People.

Alegedly, First Lady Jacqueline Bouvier Kennedy made really good waffles. I say “allegedly” not because the waffles attributed to her in various cookbooks aren’t objectively good; they’re actually wonderfully airy and crisp, thanks to an innovative technique involving whipped egg whites and baking powder. But did she ever actually cook or consume the waffles? Does it matter? Didn’t she do enough for her country, between being the exceptionally tolerant wife of a blatantly randy president, the widowed mother of small children expected to bear up beautifully in public after her husband was murdered before her eyes, a book editor, an arts preservationist, and a fashion deity for the ages? Nah, apparently in addition to all that, Jackie Kennedy had to make a bitchin’ breakfast. Such is the lot of a FLOTUS—and a POTUS, too.

To see the original post, please follow the link : http://www.extracrispy.com/food/1893/jackie-kennedy-had-a-really-great-waffle-recipe

16 Comments Add yours

  1. joliesattic says:

    My first reaction to your title was “Jackie Kennedy cooks?!” LOL No matter but I’ve made those before and they are exceptional and especially great as Belgian Waffles or regular waffles. Yum!!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I am not sure whether she actually cooked or pretended to cook, in a pretty apron, for PR. Regardless, they are yummy!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. joliesattic says:

        LOL, I know huh? Some rich do cook, they like it. It’s like art to them and relaxing. Who knows?

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I agree, cooking is art, for sure!

        Liked by 1 person

  2. joliesattic says:

    I forgot to add that in that picture, she truly was beautiful and so young, though at the time I didn’t think so. Sigh, now I’m practically twice that age. Time flies

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes it does, and yes, she really was beautiful!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. joliesattic says:

        I like that she made a square jaw beautiful. Not your typical oval face.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. She was an Irish beauty with a strong face.

        Liked by 1 person

  3. This is to inform you that I have shifted my blog to shiningtheory.com and you could have received a subscription mail which is not a scam.
    Please follow me again, and I regret the inconvenience caused to you.
    From My Theory.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. bakhitah says:

    Hello, I have nominated you for bloggers award recognition. To participate, check out my page. Congratulations

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much, dear, I am truly honored!

      Like

  5. Christina Nifong says:

    This is so interesting! Thanks for posting it!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much, I am glad you liked it!

      Liked by 1 person

  6. kelleysdiy says:

    She is such a stunning woman!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. She really was, wasn’t she!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. kelleysdiy says:

        Yes, truly remarkable.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

