Sweet and Spicy Fritters

Did you think I was done with latkes? Nooo, Beautiful People, Chanukkah is still going on, and I am still frying!

koolkosherkitchen

Sometimes I feel like I am on one of those cooking shows where you are given ingredients and equipment, and you have to figure out what to do with this stuff. I had two small sweet potatoes and one medium-sized carrot, already grated. For some reason, I thought of draniki, AKA deruny, famous Belarus potato pancakes. Belarus grows lots of potatoes – I don’t think they grow anything else – and consumes more potatoes than anyone else in the world, about 1/2 kilogram (1 lb) per person every day! No wonder they have gazillions of potato recipes, yet pancakes are still the all-time favorites. What if I tweak the standard recipe to make it healthy?

Orng frts 1.jpg

The first step was to substitute sweet potatoes for regular potatoes and grate them. They yielded about the same amount as my grated carrot (well, maybe a little more, but who is counting?)…

View original post 508 more words

4 Comments Add yours

  1. do write for our ezine too. Our readers will love your recepie.

    our mailing address is
    paxetdolor@gmai.com

    https://paxetdolor.wordpress.com

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Dear Jyotie, just feel free to pick any of my posts and reblog it, unless you want me to write something original.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Thank you so much

        you are the best 💕

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I don’t know about that, dear, but “I am what I am,” to quote a famous line. Thank you for your kind words!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

