The Train Is Dead – Have a Cookie!

The train is dead, the train is dead! Ding Dong! The wicked train is dead!

A few months ago I posted an urgent desperate plea to all of you, Beautiful People, to help us save our little island from a wicked corporation and corrupt politicians who had been threatening to destroy our unique environment, architectural ambiance, and ecological balance. You can see all the gory details here.

Let nobody claim that the grassroot movements do not work – the train is dead! We thank all of you, Beautiful People, who cast a vote to support our efforts; your votes counted, and we won! Now you can safely visit and enjoy Miami Beach in all its splendor. I am here with a plate of cookies to greet you – have a cookie!

ChCh Cookies 1.jpg

I was so overjoyed at the news from the City Council that I just made something quick and easy. However, it still abides by My Own Rules of Dessert:

Rule #1. If it’s not chocolate, it’s not dessert.

Rule #2. The more chocolate, the better!

Therefore, the most important ingredients are unsweetened cocoa powder and chocolate chips. But first you need to cream Smart Balance or any butter substitute you prefer with brown sugar. Then just mix in the rest of the stuff: spelt flour, ground walnuts or almonds, baking powder, vanilla, and a pinch of salt. Don’t forget both cocoa powder and chocolate chips, and my secret ingredient, spiced rum – can’t bake without it!

ChCh Cookies 3.jpg

Make little dough balls – I use ice cream scoop – and plop them on a lightly misted cookie sheet. Leave about 1/2 inch (1.5 cm) between them, or else they get too friendly and attached to each other. Flatten them a little with a spoon and send them into the oven for about 15 minutes. Meanwhile, you have just enough time to watch this:

I don’t know how to express my gratitude to all of you, Beautiful People! I am touched and overwhelmed by your readiness to jump to our help! All I can say is – have a cookie!

chch-cookies-4

INGREDIENTS

  • 2/3 cup Smart Balance or any butter substitute
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar
  • 2 tablespoons rum
  • 1 cup spelt flour
  • 1/4 cup ground walnuts or almonds
  • 2 tablespoon unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 1 tablespoon chocolate chips
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla essence
  • A pinch of salt

PROCEDURE

  • Preheat oven to 350 F. Lightly mist baking sheet with oil.
  • Cream Smart Balance with brown sugar. Add the rest of ingredients, mix well.
  • Form dough balls the size of walnut, place on baking sheet at 1/2 inch (1..5 cm) from each other, lightly flatten with spoon.
  • Bake for 15 minutes. If you prefer soft and chewy cookies, remove immediately. If you want them dry and crunchy, leave in the oven for 5 more minutes.

Enjoy!

 

 

 

 

54 Comments Add yours

  1. [ Smiles ] Oh, what the heck!

    We might as well have a cookie!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes! We killed it, and the blogging community helped!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. randyjw says:

    Very agreeable rules!

    Very funny about the cookies getting too attached to each other! I’m “rolling” with laughter!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. If you are turning into a rolling pin, it’ll help with my next cookie recipe – coming up!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. randyjw says:

        Dessert is my favorite “meal”! Hope it’s more chocolate!

        Liked by 1 person

      2. But of course! If it’s not chocolate, it’s not dessert!

        Liked by 1 person

  3. YAY!! HURRAY!! I’m so happy for y’all!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, my purple friend! I know you also cast your vote!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Hooray for friends!

        Liked by 1 person

  4. Congratulations for stopping the train!
    Cookies with rum – yum! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh, I just put chocolate and rum into everything – can’t hurt! Thank you so much, Ronit! Are you making sofganiyot?

      Liked by 1 person

      1. No doubt it can’t hurt! 🙂
        As for sufganiot, I’m not a big fan myself and my clients also prefer Latkes, so it looks like I’ll skip it… 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Oh well… Thank you for responding! I was so trying to bail out of making them… Latkes I’ve got, all kinds, as I am sure you do, much more than I!

        Liked by 1 person

      3. I’ve tried many versions, but the simple classic always wins. 🙂

        Like

      4. Talking about Sufganiot, I thought you’ll find this funny:

        http://www.ynetnews.com/articles/0,7340,L-4889021,00.html

        Liked by 1 person

      5. Hilarious! Thank you for a chuckle!

        Liked by 1 person

  5. Thanks for these lovely cookies and I am glad to hear it worked out for you in Miami Beach. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much – now you come to visit!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I really would love to, I’ve been to Florida (Notter School of Pastry Arts), just never to Miami. I’ve heard great things.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. That’s in Orlando, right? It’s a different world down here!

        Like

      3. Yes it is. I bet it is different 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  6. These look really great! Congratulations about the train! I saw you mention about the sufganiot. I have never made them successfully. If you can post a tutorial on that, I would be very grateful!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you – we are elated about the train! As with sofganiot, I am trying to get out of making them, as i hate deep frying! However, if I don’t find anyone to reblog it from, I’ll have to grit my teeth and do it.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I am very bad at frying. Let’s keep our eyes peeled.

        Liked by 1 person

  7. Little family emergency. I meant to also ask if you know the trick about putting them in sugar water when done? My sister knows how to make sufganiot, but, I have to watch do them if I want to learn. She can’t explain it otherwise.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I am sorry about an emergency; I hope everybody is ok! Yes, I know the trick, but I still hope i don’t have to do it!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I might just take pictures of my sister but, she is not into blogging.😕

        Liked by 1 person

      2. We’ll figure it out – Yidn always do somehow!

        Liked by 1 person

      3. You know how we came to America through Ellis Island – Yidl by Yidl!

        Liked by 1 person

      4. Ha ha! It’s funny, my family’s arrival predates Ellis Island. 🙃

        Liked by 1 person

      5. It’s Leo Rosten’s joke, not mine!

        Liked by 1 person

  8. Dear Kristen,
    I thank you for your kind words. I apologize, but I actually do not remember what this theme is called. I am totally technologically challenged! I just signed on on WordPress and followed instructions step by step, browsing the themes until I found one that I liked and that suited my purpose.
    Good luck to you,
    Dolly

    Like

  9. randyjw says:

    Dolly,
    Be careful! Oftentimes, those who post comments about your nice blog theme and ask questions turn out to be spam. Their reply name doesn’t match their email account name (often gmail). I’ve seen these with .de (German) and .ru (Russian) origins in my own spam folders, including one with the same name from the commenter above (K…). I never respond; it could be real, but I don’t think so. They keep sending same/similar content, but then use many different email addresses. Recheck what I’m telling you against that comment; if so, you might want to delete it.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much for a warning! I just did that, and I’ll try to be more careful in the future.

      Like

  10. randyjw says:

    I might be wrong, but maybe better safe than sorry. Especially when noticing continued messages by the same name and constantly changing email addresses.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I have not had that (yet!), but I will be on the alert now – thank you!

      Like

  11. randyjw says:

    Just as there is a search bar at the bottom of the Posts category, there is also one, I believe, at the bottom of the entire Comments one. You should do a search with that name (K…) typed-in, just to be sure. I saw it once somewhere, don’t remember where or if here, etc., and didn’t mention anything. So, just in case. And thanks for your help and continual emotional support. You’ve gotta be the best bubbe around! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. The best bubbe was my bubbe, Oleve v’Sholom! Thank you for tech support, I’ll definitely give it a try.

      Like

  12. Reblogged this on koolkosherkitchen and commented:

    Today is a National Chocolate Chip Day! I don’t know who declares these “National” days, but I am always happy to celebrate, especially when it comes to chocolate.

    Like

    1. Thank you so much for reblogging.

      Liked by 1 person

  13. israelisalad says:

    You showed me that everyone can make a difference! Wonderful!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! I was only in a support role on this, but we are trying to convince the man who spearheaded this effort to run for a City Commissioner. We can certainly benefit from having a civil-minded frum person in that position.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

