Fireworks on the Beach

I am repeating Fireworks to honor the veterans for their valiant service. This is also dedicated to my friend Jennifer, a retired Marine sergeant, and her son who is on active duty right now. For eight years, Jennifer had my back. She was my right hand and my left brain (that’s the logical part of your brain, Beautiful People), my most trusted adjutant and personal friend. For you, Jennifer, and all the veterans out there – my highest respect!

koolkosherkitchen

Everybody is doing something special for 4th of July! I used to do that, too. When I was still running the school, every summer in camp I did weekly International Food events. They were thinly disguised group therapy / team building sessions, but kids enjoyed themselves playing with food (I did mostly desserts!), in the process learning appropriate interactive social skills. Eventually they got to take some goodies home, if they haven’t eaten them before the end of the day. For Independence Day, we did Very Berry Fireworks, which were nothing much but skewered cut up strawberries, marshmallows, and blueberries – red, white, and blue – stuck in paper cups decorated with sticker stars and stripes. I have never pretended to be as good at arts and crafts, as Jessica of thishappymommy, who is simply amazing.  Whatever I came up with, was mainly designed to train asocial kids to…

View original post 1,009 more words

12 Comments Add yours

  1. I’m sure, that these cakes are delicious no matter what day, they will be served 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much, Irene!

      Like

  2. [ Smiles ] I love fireworks; there is something quite majestic about it!

    Liked by 3 people

    1. Thank you! Have a cookie – it’s not majestic, but delicious!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. PriyaPandian says:

    Looks great! Want to have one of them 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

    1. I wish I could e-mail them to you!

      Like

  4. Sumith Babu says:

    This sounds absolutely delicious Dolly.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I agree- people who serve their countries deserves all respect and also prayers.
    ( the cakes looks yummy! )
    Have a nice saturday!
    kram
    anna

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thank you, Anna, you too, and a nice weekend!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

