Making Sushi!

As promised, I am repeating this post in connection with a terrific poem “Riceby Robert Okaji. Enjoy both!

koolkosherkitchen

That’s what the kids in camp yelled when they saw the big rice bowl. I am not a sushi chef  – or any kind of a chef! – but I was taught by one, a dear friend and author of Mesorah Sushi, Linda Gershater. Mesorah means Tradition, and Linda, Japanese by birth, grew up in the traditional Japanese cuisine. In this post, I will only share the basic techniques of making two kinds of sushi rolls.  As you are probably aware, there are numerous other kinds of sushi, as well as specific recipes, but even this post is promising to be a long one, and each kind of sushi deserves a separate post. Maybe some time in the future…

Sushi prp 1.jpg

Please forgive me if it sounds as if I am addressing children. I have taught sushi making in camp for years, I have made sushi with my own grandchildren and…

View original post 2,146 more words

7 Comments Add yours

  1. Yum, my favorite! I wish I had some to eat right now.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I wish I could e-mail it to you! Thank you – I am glad you like it!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Venkatesh says:

    Sushi looks yummy. I will try cooking this at home.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much! It’s really easy – good luck, and let me know how it turns out.

      Like

Leave a Reply

