The World Is Macaroni: Pasta Fagioli

Marco Polo went to China. It was a very long way from Venice, and the sailors who were part of his expedition, sick of sea rations, craved homemade food. One of them, while on a shore leave, met a beautiful girl who was making noodles. History is not clear whether he had fallen in love with the girl or her noodles, but he persuaded her to let him have a taste – of the noodles, Beautiful People! He loved them so much that he brought a sample to Marco Polo who subsequently introduced them to Italy. The sailor’s name was – are you ready for this? – Signor Spaghetti (http://www.rd.com/food/fun/6-food-creation-myths-you-shouldnt-believe/).

marco-polo-myths

The main problem with this load of baloney is that Marco Polo did not arrive in China by ship; he followed “The Great Silk Route” through Asia and befriended the great Mongolian ruler Kublai Khan in the process. Contrary to the pasta story, this one is documented. In reality, even though pasta did not originate in the Mediterranean (scuzi, amici!), but it didn’t float from China either. According to food historians, pasta was known to both Arabic and African tribes before it made its way to ancient Greece and ultimately to Rome where dry pasta became a part of soldiers’ ration (http://www.pasta-recipes-by-italians.com/history-of-pasta.html).

Combined with beans as a source of protein, with any vegetables at hand thrown in, pasta quickly became cucina povera – the food of the poor, cheap, hearty, and filling. It was so widespread that I was unable to discover origins of one of my favorite soups, Pasta e Fagioli, or Pasta Fagioli for short. It seems that in the South, fagioli borlotti, or cranberry beans are used, as well as lots or tomatoes or a heavy tomato sauce. My favorite is a Northern recipe, with cannellini beans and fresh diced tomatoes. It is also a vegetarian version, but feel free to use meat stock, if that’s your pleasure.

Pasta Fgli 1.jpg

I follow the traditional Italian method of cooking beans and pasta separately. The beans are soaked overnight, then I throw them into the crock pot and let them cook to the point of disintegration. This soup has to be thick, almost like a stew.

Pasta Fgli 2.jpg

Meanwhile, I have this adorable gluten free vegan pasta that my granddaughter found somewhere in downtown Boston where she goes to school and where she explores all kinds of funky stores. She is “like totally” on a health food track, and I am very happy about it! Any pasta will do for this soup, even leftover spaghetti broken into small pieces. This pasta is gluten free so it cooks very quickly. Remember, you want it under-cooked because it will continue cooking in the soup.

Pasta Fgli 3.jpg

While the pasta is cooling its heels and the beans are still disintegrating in the crock pot, I quickly make a very light tomato sauce. Minced onions and garlic are sauteed in  olive oil with grated carrots and diced fresh tomato until carrots are soft.

Pasta Fgli 4.jpg

Once the beans are fully cooked, the pasta is ready, and the sauce is done, you assemble the soup and season it. I use pareve soup powder, cinnamon, salt and pepper, and a nice handful of fresh chopped parsley.

I couldn’t resist this one! And once you taste this soup, you will believe that the world is macaroni, and if it isn’t, it should be!

pasta-fgli-5

Instead of traditional Reggiano Parmesano grated on top, I just sprinkled some nutritional yeast into my bowl – delicious!

INGREDIENTS

  • 2 cups cooked cannellini beans (1 cup uncooked) or 1 15 oz can
  • 2 cups any small pasta
  • 1/4 medium onion, minced
  • 2 – 3 garlic cloves, minced
  • 1/2 cup grated carrots
  • 1/2 cup diced tomato
  • 1 tablespoon olive oil
  • 1 heaping tablespoon pareve soup powder
  • A pinch of cinnamon
  • A large handful of fresh chopped parsley
  • Salt and pepper to taste
  • Optional: a pinch of nutritional yeast

PROCEDURE

  • Soak beans overnight. Drain water, place in crock pot, add water to 3 quarts, cook on high until extremely soft. If cooked stove top, stir frequently.
  • Cook pasta according to instructions to under-cooked condition (less than al dente).
  • Saute garlic, onion, carrots and tomato in olive oil until carrots are soft.
  • When beans are ready, add pasta and sauce. Flavor and season with the rest of ingredients. Mix well.
  • Serve hot, sprinkle nutritional yeast on top, if desired.

Enjoy!

 

52 Comments Add yours

  1. Tasty looking soup!
    I had to laugh at “vegan cat shaped pasta”… 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

    1. The things teenagers find in a funky Boston shop…

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I could smell how good this is through your photos and your words! Mmmmmmm

    Liked by 1 person

    1. A dank,a Gut Shabbos, and a freilechen Yom Tov!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Anupriya says:

    This looks amazingly delicious! 😀 I seriously love Italian Cuisine ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. So do I! I love everything Northern Italian, not only cuisine!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. jsackmom says:

    Oh yummy I love pasta soups. We love Annie’s pasta that’s bunny shaped in our house. 😊

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you – I am glad you like it! I have never seen “bunny” pasta, but my guess would be that those bunnies live in the same kind of stores where my granddaughter found the cats.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. jsackmom says:

        I’m excited to try your soup. The bunny pasta is from the company Annie’s and I would think they’d be right at home with the cats. 😉

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I’ll send my granddaughter on a bunny quest…

        Liked by 1 person

      3. jsackmom says:

        Yay you won’t regret it especially when you try the white cheddar mix. 😃

        Liked by 1 person

      4. I love cheese but it doesn’t like me anymore…

        Like

  5. lilyandardbeg says:

    The cat pasta made me laugh, too 🙂 I’m not sure how comfortable I’d feel chewing the little head, though…

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I felt the same way but didn’t want to offend Alisia – she tried so hard to please me!

      Liked by 1 person

  6. This looks great! So funny, Raizel had also just asked me to make this too! Apparently my mother made it for her once, and she still remembers it. Yum!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you – it is yummy, and the easiest thing to make.

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for listing my blog!

      Like

  7. I love the rich italian flavour of the blog.
    Just followed your blog, hope you see reason to follow back 😉

    Like

    1. Thank you so much – yes, I love everything Italian! I am following you now, with pleasure!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Blessings dear 😉
        It would be glad to always see you around the blog ..
        You are a very interesting person dear

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Oh, you’ll see me around! Age and experience makes people interesting, as well as working with people for many years.

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Thats great dear.. look forward to hearing from you.. *kisses*

        Liked by 1 person

  8. Janice Wald says:

    Hi,
    Melissa is a good friend of mine. I know other people here too. I teach about Marco Polo’s travels to China. Also, I am not kosher, but I have friends who are.
    Congratulations on being Danny Ray’s featured blogger. I was his featured blogger too. Maybe you can check out my blog if you need a blogging tip or two. That’s what I write about.
    Janice

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Janice, and thank you for stopping by! You don’t have to be kosher to enjoy good food, but sharing my recipes with your kosher friends might be a good idea. I don’t think I was a Danny Ray’s featured blogger – at least I don’t know anything about it, but congratulations to you! Nice to meet you! Dolly

      Liked by 1 person

  9. Janice Wald says:

    Sorry, I am dictating on my phone. Lisa is a good friend of mine.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Ah, that’s great – she sounds like so much fun!

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Janice Wald says:

        Fun and supportive.
        Janice

        Liked by 1 person

  10. Reblogged this on koolkosherkitchen and commented:

    Today is the World Pasta Day, Beautiful People, and I am repeating one of my favorite pasta recipes – enjoy!

    Like

    1. Thank you for pingback.

      Like

  11. A_Boleyn says:

    I grew up in an Italian neighbourhood and often heard my school mates refer to something called ‘pasta fazool’ … regional dialects transform the name of many Italian dishes and ingredients. I use cannellini beans and canned tomatoes in the version I make of this delicious dish.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I try to use fresh tomatoes, rather than canned. I dice them and freeze them, and use them per need. Thank you for your comment!
      BTW, I have finally made Fake Crab Rangoons, and we loved them. Will write them up soon.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. A_Boleyn says:

        Canned is just more convenient for various uses. And I can get good quality year round. 🙂

        Glad to hear that you enjoyed the crab rangoon. Look forward to the post.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Thank you – you have inspired me! 😻

        Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for reblogging, and yes, the World Pasta Day was created in Europe.

      Like

  12. One of my favorites! Thanks so much for your version of this recipe.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You are most welcome, dear Ronnie, and thank you for your comment!

      Like

  13. Green Delhi says:

    Looks absolutely delicious. I love Italian cuisine. Great explanation too!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much, dear; I am so glad you like it!

      Liked by 1 person

  14. A most amusing tale, Dolly and a lovely recipe for soup.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much, dear Robbie; I am so glad you like it!

      Liked by 1 person

  15. lifelessons says:

    This sounds delicious, but I’ve never heard of the soup powder you use. What is in it, please, so I can try to duplicate?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It’s a kosher variation of standard bouillon cubes. It saves time for lazy people who don’t want to saute diced onions with grated carrots and whatever spices you prefer. That’s all it is!

      Like

  16. Kitty pasta!!!! Can’t wait to try this recipe! 💛

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Isn’t it adorable? But any pasta will do – enjoy! 😻

      Like

Leave a Reply

