Spring Rolls in Summer

It’s summer, and I am making spring rolls. On the other hand, it’s always summer in South Florida, so what’s the difference?  On the third hand, first spring vegetables wrapped in thin pastry dough and fried were traditionally served in China on the first day of the Spring Festival, hence the name. On the fourth hand, I don’t want to wrap vegetables in pastry dough and fry them, I want to find a healthier option, like rice paper.  On the fifth hand, rice paper spring rolls are Vietnamese and Thai, rather than Chinese. That’s it, ran out of hands. Wait, how many hands do I have?

Sprg Rls 1.jpg

Anyway, I found kosher rice paper, I have a bunch of fresh vegetables, and I am making spring rolls, baked, not fried.

Sprg Rls 2.jpg

Every spring roll I’ve ever found on my plate had the two mandatory ingredients, cabbage and carrots. After that, it’s free for all. I thought that some bell peppers and scallions will make it look and taste even more like spring – or summer! – and a fresh cilantro will spice it up a bit. Then, on a spur of a moment, I decided to grate some ginger and yellow turmeric into it and add just a touch of mint, to give it a different flavor twist.

Sprg Rls 3.jpg

There are two different schools of thought regarding the spring roll filling. One stems from traditional recipes which included meats and shellfish that obviously had to be precooked. Consequently, they insist on cooking vegetables for veggie spring rolls as well. The other one, prompted by the raw food movement, considers cooking unnecessary. I go with the second one, as it preserves the crispy fresh spring feeling, but if you want to cook or steam your veggies, go right ahead! I only marinate them for about ten minutes in olive oil with salt and pepper. You have to give them a stir once in a while, as the oil tends to accumulate on the bottom.

Sprg Rls 5.jpg

When you are ready to roll,  prepare a large dish filled with very warm water. Dip a sheet of rice paper in water for about one minute, until it becomes translucent and pliant, but not sticky. Keep the rest of the rice paper under wraps and take out one sheet at a time, when you are ready to use it.

Sprg Rls 6

Place rice paper on a board or a working surface and put two heaping tablespoons of the veggie filling about one inch (2.5 cm) away from the side closest to you and from the two sides. Sprinkle some chopped mint over the veggies.

Sprg Rls 7.jpg

Fold the middle flap over the veggies first, followed by the side flaps. Keep rolling tightly but very gently, so as not to tear the rice paper. Put the finished roll on a plate seam down. Before you start each roll, make sure the water for dipping rice paper is warm enough.

Sprg Rls 8.jpg

Keep a distance between the rolls as they tend to get sentimentally attached to each other, and you won’t be able to pry them apart without damaging them. Just like some people, aren’t they? Cover them and refrigerate them for at least ten minutes. Meanwhile, you can get your oven up to 350 and lightly mist a baking pan with oil. Well, if you really want to, you can fry them on a lightly misted frying pan.

Sprg Rls 9.jpg

OK, ten minutes is up, transfer your rolls to the baking pan, still keeping the distance, and lightly mist them on top. Bake for ten minutes, then gently flip them on the other side, all the time making sure they are not touching each other, otherwise you are in trouble. Give them another ten minutes, on the other side.  Meanwhile, let’s talk about the sauces. Nowadays, you can buy a kosher Hoisin sauce and, probably, a peanut sauce too, but I find them too spicy – chili pepper is not my thing! – so I make my own. It takes a minute, and I am sure you have the ingredients in your pantry: rice vinegar, sesame oil, blue agave, and soy sauce. Mix it all up, adjust to your taste, and you are ready.

Sprg Rls 10

Traditionally, spring rolls are served warm, but not piping hot, and definitely not cold. And yes, they are the quintessential finger food, so prepare to get messy!

INGREDIENTS

  • 1 large carrot, grated
  • 1 cup finely shredded cabbage (1/4 head)
  • 2 scallions, cut lengthwise very thin, then in half
  • 1/2 sweet bell pepper, cut lengthwise very thin
  • 1/4 cup fresh chopped cilantro
  • Grated ginger
  • Grated turmeric
  • 1 tablespoon olive oil
  • Salt and pepper to taste
  • 6 rice paper rounds, softened
  • 1/8 cup fresh chopped mint or Thai basil

     For Sauce:

  • 1 tablespoon sesame oil
  • 1 tablespoon or more agave
  • 1 teaspoon soy sauce
  • 1 teaspoon rice vinegar

PROCEDURE

  • Combine all ingredients, except for rice paper and mint or basil, mix well. Put aside to marinate for at least 10 minutes, stirring occasionally.
  • Soften rice paper by dipping it into very warm water until translucent and pliant, but not sticky. Place on a board or working surface.  Note: take one sheet at a time, keep the rest covered.
  • Place two heaping tablespoons of vegetable mixture on rice paper 1 inch (2.5 cm) from the side closest to you and the same distance from both sides. Sprinkle mint or basil on vegetables.
  • Fold the middle flap over vegetables, fold side flaps, roll tightly, place on plate seam down Note: place rolls at a distance from each other to prevent sticking. Cover and refrigerate for 10 minutes.
  • Preheat oven to 350, lightly mist shallow baking pan with oil.
  • Transfer rolls to baking pan, keeping distance between them. Lightly mist rolls with oil. Bake uncovered for ten minutes on each side. Alternatively, fry for 3 – 4 minutes on each side on a lightly misted frying pan. Remove and let cool slightly.
  • Prepare sauce by mixing all sauce ingredients.
  • Serve warm with sauce on the side.

Enjoy!

 

37 Comments Add yours

  1. Ahh! I love these. Vietnamese spring rolls look somewhat similar. It’s a delight to feast on these mini bundles of joy 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

    1. I am so glad you like them! These are almost Vietnamese, but vegan. And you are holding your beautiful “bundle of joy” in your arms!

      Liked by 2 people

      1. Haha oh yes she is her momma’s pet! 😉

        Liked by 1 person

      2. She is just as beautiful as her momma!

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Aww!! You are sweet 🙂 Thank you ❤

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Rhythm says:

    I was thinking of trying my hands on this rice paper, and saw your post 😊 they look so beautiful, is there any difficulty handling them?

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Not at all, if you don’t over-soak rice paper. The first time I dipped rice paper in water, it became sticky, curled, and finally ripped apart. It only takes one try to get a hand of it! Good luck!

      Liked by 2 people

      1. Rhythm says:

        Ok, great to know that 😀

        Liked by 1 person

  3. payel says:

    Wonderful recipe !

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, I am glad you like it!

      Like

  4. Sarah says:

    Wow! Yummy!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! I am glad you like them!

      Like

  5. This looks delicious! I love a yummy, homemade spring roll ♡. What a wonderful recipe 😍

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thank you so much! I am glad you like it.

      Like

  6. I love these. Where do you buy the rice paper? Plus, do they take a long time to make?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you. I hope you survived the fast and are feeling ok. I bought it in one of the Jewish stores here. you’ll have to go through stores in your area, I guess. They are not time-consuming at all. All the ingredients are raw, and while they are marinating, you can do something else. It only takes a few minutes to roll them, and then they can sit in the fridge until you are ready to bake them.

      Liked by 2 people

      1. Hmmmm. This sounds good. I will ask Raizel if she would like to make this or sushi. Both sound good.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Caution: sushi will be much easier for her to roll. If in doubt, I suggest you ask her OT.

        Liked by 2 people

      3. I think I will try and figure out what she is more motivated to eat. I know for sure she likes sushi. Not sure if she ever had spring rolls. She is more adventurous with food like me.

        Liked by 1 person

      4. You are the mummy, you know better!

        Liked by 1 person

  7. Sumith Babu says:

    Home made spring rolls are great. Another amazing recipe!! Thanks for this Dolly:)

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thank you, Sumith, but I really don’t see anything special about them – just take a bunch of veggies and wrap them in rice paper!

      Liked by 1 person

  8. Reblogged this on koolkosherkitchen and commented:

    One of our guests this Shabbos was vegetarian, so I made a batch of spring rolls and hoisin sauce to go with them. They were an instant hit with everyone, not only our vegetarian friend! Here is the recipe.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Your Spring Rolls look amazing and delicious Dolly, now I need to search for this rice paper somewhere. Not easy to find, but I hope, it is possible. Any idea to exchange the soy?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Dear Irene, if you can’t find rice paper in stores, it is available by order on the internet, and very reasonably priced, too. Making Hoisin sauce without soy is a bit tricky, as it is a main ingredient. I would experiment with increasing the other ingredients and adding salt to taste. Maybe adding some grated ginger?

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Ginger sounds like a great idea Dolly, thank you 🙂
        I will find a way with the rice paper. Maybe I can buy it online here somewhere.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. My pleasure – enjoy!

        Liked by 1 person

  10. Thank you, it looks beautiful, tasty and it’s healthy. Well done.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. You are most welcome. My name is Patricia :o)

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I apologize! Why am calling you Sally? Must’ve been someone in your precious life…

        Liked by 1 person

  11. I don’t know but I like that name too, and don’t worry I’ve done that as well. My husband has a cousin named Roger and I constantly call him Ronald. I can’t explain why but I’ve done it so often it has become a family joke. :o)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You are very gracious; I appreciate that.

      Liked by 1 person

  12. Joëlle says:

    My husband, still working upstairs in his office, is wondering what is making me laugh (the TV is off). I have to tell him it’s you, your ever funny way of explaining recipes, like how many hands you end up with (should come in handy when cooking though), and the rolls getting sentimentally attached 😄.
    May I share my trick for softening the rice sheets? I dip them in a skillet of warm water that I keep on the stove. As soon as I feel the water gets too cold I just turn on the heat for maybe a minute.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Great trick, thank you! Fortunately, I have a smaller second sink with filtered water as a part of my working counter, so I can add warm water any time.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

