Sweet and Spicy Fritters

Sometimes I feel like I am on one of those cooking shows where you are given ingredients and equipment, and you have to figure out what to do with this stuff. I had two small sweet potatoes and one medium-sized carrot, already grated. For some reason, I thought of draniki, AKA deruny, famous Belarus potato pancakes. Belarus grows lots of potatoes – I don’t think they grow anything else – and consumes more potatoes than anyone else in the world, about 1/2 kilogram (1 lb) per person every day! No wonder they have gazillions of potato recipes, yet pancakes are still the all-time favorites. What if I tweak the standard recipe to make it healthy?

Orng frts 1.jpg

The first step was to substitute sweet potatoes for regular potatoes and grate them. They yielded about the same amount as my grated carrot (well, maybe a little more, but who is counting?). Next, instead of using white flour, I opted for spelt flour which eliminated gluten and added some protein. As I’ve confessed in my previous post Plump Banana Pancakes,  I use eggs as a binding agent, but if you want to make it vegan, feel free to use any egg substitute you like. Then I thought about spicing it up. I have fallen in love with turmeric lately, and I am experimenting with it any chance I get. To further enhance the slightly minty flavor of turmeric, I added more fresh mint. Both are reputed to be very good for digestion, too. I recently had a comment regarding cinnamon in cabbage soup, so let me confess something else: listen, beautiful people, there comes time in everyone’s life when you start thinking about cholesterol, and no matter how healthy you have been eating all your life, some traits are generic, and cholesterol happens to be one of them. To offset that generic “sword of Damocles,” cinnamon comes to rescue. I stick it in practically everything! A splash of Blue Agave brings out the natural sweetness of both carrot and sweet potatoes. A pinch of baking powder, salt and pepper, and you are ready to go.

Orng frts 2.jpg

Just dump everything together into a bowl and mix well. My husband asked why I called them fritters rather then latkes, or pancakes. First of all, in my mind, latkes are prostokvasha-based while these are just grated veggies held together by an egg, with very little flour and crazy spices. Secondly, as I have already stated in Oriental Veggie Burgers, it’s my recipe, I call it whatever I want.

Orng frts 3

When mixed, it looks so brightly orange, that I almost called it Orange Fritters, but then readers might be misled into thinking of oranges as an ingredient, and there aren’t any, only beautiful colors of two healthy vegetables put together. You are ready to preheat a frying pan to medium and mist it with oil.

Orng frts 4.jpg

Drop large spoonfuls onto the frying pan and fry thoroughly on both sides. Do not overfry. Remove to a plate lined with paper towels to blot excess oil.

Orng frts 5

Ready to serve – as breakfast, lunch, snack, or side dish. We had them as a side dish on Shabbos afternoon, instead of traditional boring kugel, and what a bright, colorful, sweet and spicy Shabbos it was!

INGREDIENTS

  • 1 large or 2 small sweet potatoes, grated (1 cup)
  • 1 medium size carrot, grated (3/4 cup)
  • 1 egg
  • 2 tablespoons spelt flour
  • 1/4 cup fresh chopped mint
  • 1 tablespoon agave
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
  • Grated turmeric or turmeric powder to taste
  • Pinch of cinnamon
  • Salt and pepper to taste

PROCEDURE

  • Grate potatoes and carrot. Finely grate turmeric.
  • Add the rest of ingredients, mix well.
  • Preheat frying pan to medium, mist with oil. Drop mix onto pan with large spoon.
  • Fry thoroughly on both sides, about 5 minutes each, but do not overfry.
  • Remove to a plate lined with paper towels, to blot out excess oil.
  • Garnish with fresh greens.

Enjoy!

 

44 Comments Add yours

  1. Sumith Babu says:

    Dolly, that looks really yummy!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! Judging by the speed with which they disappeared, they tasted not so bad, too.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Sumith Babu says:

        Haha for shure it should taste yummy as well!!

        Liked by 1 person

  2. If you’re talking about a show like “chopped”, you would get by far weirder ingredients to deal with. Trust me, I’ve been there!. 🙂

    The fritters look very tasty. I especially like the addition of mint in there.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I have not seen, but I heard about challah and ham on Chopped – can’t get any weirder than that! What kind of weirdness did you have to deal with? Thank you for the like, your word means a lot to me!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Oh it can get weirder than that!
        It’s always nice to see what other people are making! 🙂
        It’s been almost 4 years since I participated, and I didn’t think about it much since, but there were quite a few odd combinations – fish with olive loaf, for example, and other strange ones…. It was an interesting experience on the whole.

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Reblogged this on koolkosherkitchen and commented:

    Did you think I was done with latkes? Nooo, Beautiful People, Chanukkah is still going on, and I am still frying!

    Like

  4. lghiggins says:

    Sounds delicious! Did you have any problems with the sweet potatoes turning black when grated? I don’t know if it is the potatoes in Mexico or what, but when I peel a sweet potato here, it turns black (discolors in the air) unless I put it immediately into water.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! No, I’ve never had this problem. Maybe, there is a different kind of sweet potatoes that grows in Mexico?

      Liked by 1 person

      1. lghiggins says:

        That must be so! I’ll see if I can research it further. The sweet potatoes here look the same as in the U.S., but I actually like the taste better when I bake them. Thanks for the feedback.

        Liked by 2 people

  5. susieshy45 says:

    I love this recipe Carol. Are you from Belarus ?
    Susie

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Susie! I am not from Belarus, I am from Odessa. Be well,
      Dolly

      Liked by 1 person

      1. susieshy45 says:

        Where is Odessa ? I am sorry to sound so stupid. You wrote about Belarusian recipes. I have seen athletes from Belarus during Olympics.
        Susie

        Liked by 1 person

      2. You are not stupid at all! It is hard to say which country Odessa belongs to right now, and there is an armed conflict going on, but it is located on the Black Sea, in the South. I write about everybody’s recipes, not only Belorussian; I explore recipes of different countries and cultures.
        Be well,
        Dolly

        Liked by 1 person

      3. susieshy45 says:

        Dolly,
        I googled Odessa after your comment and found an Odessa in Texas – I concluded that you were writing from Texas- thanks for the clarification. Is Odessa part of Ukraine – one of the parts of the old Russia that broke of or is it part of Crimea ?
        Susie

        Liked by 1 person

      4. Odessa became part of Ukraine under the communist regime, and now is fighting for the status of free and independent trade zone that is had been before the communists. It’s not part of the Crimea, but very close to it. Yes, there is Odessa in Texas and another one in Florida, and I writing from Florida, but not from Odessa. I live in Miami Beach. Happy New Year, Susie!

        Liked by 1 person

  6. randyjw says:

    That happened to me with my potatoes. I dodn’t know if it was because I left the skin on, or because I just had too many and took too long to grate them. Mine were Idaho Northkota potatoes. That’s why I topped them all in my photo! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. But you used regular potatoes, not sweet potatoes, didn’t you? Regular potatoes normally turn black, but sweet potatoes shouldn’t, at least in my experience.

      Liked by 2 people

      1. randyjw says:

        Yes; Russet. I never heard of that with sweet potatoes, either.

        My email account seems to have been hacked; it’s draining my battery, and I can’t seem to get rid of it. It came in on a WordPress blogger’s comments (just hers). In case you don’t hear from me, after a time…

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Sorry to hear your e-mail account is sick – refuah sheleima to it!

        Liked by 1 person

  7. These look and sound very delicious Dolly and I love natural colored food 🙂
    Sweet potatoes here in Spain do also turn black after cleaning. I found out to peel them and wait with the washing, until all are peeled.
    Then I wash them and if I wish to use them in the oven I turn them around with a little olive oil and spices, then they don’t become black. It I wish to grate them I grate them fast and place them in the mix, where I ad the juice of a half lemon too. This avoid all bad coloring.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much for your very valuable advice, dear Irene! Happy New Year full of joy!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Happy New Year for you too Dolly 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  8. randyjw says:

    I bought a new charger and it’s working to charge my battery. I don’t know if I’ve eliminated the problem, but I’ve gotten around part of it, at least, for now. It’s a good metaphor for life, anyways! Happy New Year (second time around)!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, and Happy New Year to you again!

      Like

  9. Tasty pancakes, I didn’t use sweet potatoes that way, i have to try 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much! Happy New Year!

      Liked by 1 person

  10. Julie Zimmer says:

    Thanks Dolly! These look so good!…Must try. I’m a potato freak and love all kinds of potatoes and potato dishes.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Julie, I am glad you like it!

      Like

  11. kelleysdiy says:

    Once again, you gave us a wonderful dish to try!!! You should have your own cooking show!!!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, and you should have your own DIY show – you would look so cute!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. kelleysdiy says:

        you should be on the Cooking channel….sign up for one of the baking or cooking tryouts….love to see you on tv. Your hubby was sure enjoying the shepherds pie!

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Oh, he loves it! As to the Cooking channel, I wouldn’t even know how to go about it. We do not watch regular TV programming. I pull up on my laptop whatever movie or show we want to watch at a time convenient to us and without commercials, and the laptop is connected to a screen by cable. But you for sure should be on a DIY show, if there are such things!

        Liked by 1 person

      3. kelleysdiy says:

        Mutual Admiration!

        Liked by 1 person

      4. kelleysdiy says:

        What did you decide for your daughter in law? Did you find on pinterest?

        Liked by 1 person

      5. Didn’t have time – less than two weeks before Passover, the busiest time of the year! This will have to be after Passover.

        Liked by 1 person

      6. kelleysdiy says:

        Im going to take the day off….the mugging …I need to rest…sorry

        Liked by 1 person

      7. The WHAT? What happened to you? Can I help in any way?

        Liked by 1 person

  12. kelleysdiy says:

    Im okay..I sent you a email. I’m fine.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Just saw your e-mail – rest, relax, and put it behind you! S**t happens – I am so sorry it happened to you!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

